2″ post huge numbers. When his now 80-year-old wife kicks him out for a younger man, Maximo goes to live with his sister (Salma Hayek) and attempts to remaster his art of seduction. When the now-beloved first “Guardians” movie launched as a relatively unknown property in August of 2014, it made $94 million in its opening weekend. The $18 million movie was acquired by EuropaCorp for an estimated $8 million.The film hoped to draw audiences by tapping into modern-day anxieties surrounding technology and privacy. Five domestic IMAX locations set new three-day weekend records, and the film also set records in India, making it the biggest domestic IMAX opening for a foreign language film.Not every story from the weekend box office was quite so rosy. The sequel earned over $101 million at the foreign box office in its opened weekend — one ahead of the U.S. In 2013 “Instructions Not Included,” which he directed in addition to starring in, earned $7.8 million in its opening weekend from only 348 theaters.Despite screening in only 420 locations, the South Indian epic “Baahubali 2: The Conclusion” landed in third for the weekend with a hefty sum of $10.5 million. After winning the domestic box office for three straight weeks, the Universal movie’s U.S. Slapped with a rare D+ CinemaScore and a 17% on Rotten Tomatoes, “The Circle” landed $9.3 million from 3,163 theaters, falling short of its double-digit projections. Rajamouli returned to direct the movie starring Prabhas, Rana Daggubati and Anushka Shetty.”Baahubali 2″ earned $1.8 million of its domestic total from 45 IMAX screens alone. His young employee, played by Watson, finds herself wrapped up in an experiment that tests ethical limits. Rob Lowe and Kristen Bell also star in comedic actor Ken Marino’s directorial debut. Not only that, “Fate’s” global total officially crossed the $1 billion mark, making it the 21st highest grossing movie of all time behind 2006’s “Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest.” Its total global sum stands at $1.06 billion.But while “Fate’s” victory seemed inevitable, the rest of the weekend’s top five reaped intrigue. Pantelion’s “How to be a Latin Lover” slid into second over Tom Hanks and Emma Watson’s not-so-distant future tech-thriller “The Circle.” Led by Mexican star Eugenio Derbez, “Latin Lover” attracted $12 million from only 1,118 targeted locations. The film tells the story of a young street magician in Los Angeles (Jacob Latimore) who uses magic and his mind to save his kidnapped sister. Posted April 30, 2017 by ReutersBy Seth KelleyLOS ANGELES, April 30 (Variety.com) – It has become a familiar story — “The Fate of the Furious” is, once again, the box office champ.The massively popular eighth episode in the Fast and Furious franchise earned $19.4 million this weekend from 4,077 locations, placing it securely in first place during a sputtering weekend, anticipating the summer season. The label’s marketing and release strategy targeted a young, urban audience — 72% of audiences fell in the 18-34 demo and 45% were African-American.In its fifth weekend, Fox’s “Boss Baby” held onto the fifth position. total stands at $192.7 million. The movie, from Great India Films, is the sequel to “Baahubali: The Beginning” which made $3.6 million when it opened in 236 theaters in 2015. Seychelle Gabriel, Dule Hill, Storm Reid and Sasheer Zamata also star. Derbez has won over the domestic box office in the past. In the movie, Hanks plays the CEO of a Silicon Valley social media company. James Ponsoldt directed the movie and co-wrote the script with Dave Eggers, who wrote the novel on which the movie was based.Blumhouse’s BH Tilt label released “Sleight” in 565 theaters, and saw a weekend gross of $1.7 million. The opening weekend’s audience domestically was 89% Hispanic.In “Latin Lover” Derbez plays a man named Maximo who made a career seducing older women. The animated film earned an additional $9.1 million from 3,739 locations, raising its domestic total to just shy of $150 million.Next weekend marks the first summer frame, and should see “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. S.S.



And after his first take, they all gave him a standing ovation. They expected it would resonate. “It’s better than I imagined. I think this is really timely, if it can be reduced to somewhat metaphoric of where we are right now … Jones says that his role, Mr. “I’d be perfectly happy if it were not quite as timely. You treasure those moments as an author.””American Gods” premieres Sunday, April 30th on Starz. That’s the working title, but I’m sure I will come up with something better.’ And I never did.”For many of the actors in the series, the mythic nature of the material and the iconic gods that populate it provided an initial allure. And suddenly I had a book. “Trying to, like all people, figure out where the hell we are in our lives. They shift from region to region, but by and large, they kind of remain the same. The material, 16 years after its introduction, was taking on a red-hot immediacy, a realization that only gradually dawned on executive producer and showrunner Bryan Fuller (“Hannibal”).”I think our first indication of that was when we were watching dailies from a scene that featured Orlando Jones, and his introduction as the African trickster god, Mr. And also just in terms of how humankind seems to be moving. “It’s weird, because most books you don’t [remember when the idea first came to you],” says Gaiman. By the way, I’m calling it “American Gods” right now. That was the first time we thought, ‘Oh, this is more than just the fun show that we wanted to see.’ There are themes in the book that really speak to people deeply.””It was mind-blowing,” says actress Yetide Badaki, who plays a Bilquis, a contemporary incarnation of the Biblical Queen of Sheba who lives in the modern world as a carnivorously worship-seeking prostitute, of the increasing prescience of the subject matter.”I woke up thinking, Who had the crystal ball all this time?” laughs Bedaki. Posted April 29, 2017 by Scott HuverThe new Starz’s new series “American Gods,” adapted from the bestselling novel by fantasy author Neil Gaiman, would be epic, mythic, and frequently mind-blowing. It was just like, ‘This is a book.’ A couple of days later, as soon as I had some down time, I wrote an essay and sent it to my agent and to my editor, and said, ‘This is the idea, this is the story. “It added an extraordinary amount of authenticity to our work there. I looked at it and I thought, I wonder if they took their gods with them?”Then there was a beat, and then I thought, I wonder if they took their gods away when they went home. Nancy,” says Fuller. I looked down at a tabletop diorama of the voyages of Leif Erikson going from Iceland, to Greenland, to Newfoundland, which they call Vinland. The headlines that say things like, ‘Is “American Gods” the most political show of 2017?’ ‘Is “American Gods” the most important show of 2017?’ They are wonderful. “It’s relative in a Black Lives Matter sort of way — he was in a slave hold with 30-40 slaves played by black actors. “They slowly congeal, and then suddenly you look down and this is a book.”In this case, I was really tired, I was in Reykjavik, in Iceland,” the author recalls. I’m absolutely stunned at how something that was written in 2001 and was filmed last year has become so incredibly topical. Every episode now I’m seeing through a new lens. “In Episode 2, watching Gillian Anderson playing Media, the new god of all of you [journalists and bloggers], having taken on the form of ‘The Lucy Show,’ and talking on a big screen to Shadow Moon, was just absolutely unbelievable for me,” he says.”It’s not just as good as I imagined,” he adds. Going down the rabbit hole of the mythology is one thing, but going down the rabbit hole of humanity? That was just something you can’t quantify.”Ultimately for Gaiman, with all the increasing urgency and zeitgeist appeal that the show has accumulated, it was the simple pleasure of seeing characters he conceived and lines of dialogue he wrote come to life on the soundstage that resonated the most. Those things make this incredibly special.”Others, like Corbin Bernsen, who plays Vulcan, the Roman god of fire and, adapting contemporaneously, guns — a character created especially for the series — were attracted by what “American Gods” had to say about instantly relatable topics like generational change.”The idea of what’s going on, the old gods coming out and dealing with the new gods, that I very much am invested in on a daily basis,” says Bernsen. I think what’s interesting about this exploration is the themes and metaphors that you find are at play with a book written before there was an iPhone that finds itself so relevant technologically. Nancy, derived from the African deity Anansi, “has been a character my great grandparents and grandparents have been reading to me since before I knew what Neil Gaiman was. I’m somewhere around mid-Earth right now.””We shot our scenes primarily in a working penitentiary in Oklahoma, in the middle of that state,” says Jonathan Tucker, who plays Low-Key Lyesmith, an incarnation of Loki, the Norse god of mischief. “I had not slept for about two days, due to it being the eternal summer. I would trade them for a slightly stabler world right now, and feeling like I understood what was going on.”Gaiman admits that the very notion for the novel was unique in the way that it first struck him, lingering in a way that typically unformed creative sparks don’t. But the creators and cast of the eagerly anticipated adaptation had no idea, throughout the years-long development process to bring it to the screen, that by the time it was broadcast that it would be so relevant.Despite the fact that Gaiman’s book was published in 2001, somehow its central themes are at the center of recent American political discourse in 2017: issues of immigration; inequality; polarization; flasher, more dangerous, and more powerful new systems supplanting the old, weakening establishment; and the essential fabric of the American psyche. In that sense, I guess it’s always been a part of my life.””As it relates to mythology in general,” adds Jones, “the prototypes are the prototypes, the gods are the gods. It’s possible that as artists we were tapping into the psyche, and feeling something that was on the horizon, because I think viewers are going to be absolutely fascinated by how relevant all of this is at this time.””I would be very happy if it wasn’t this relevant,” admits Gaiman. “I guess Neil sees into the future. And also, it felt very right that a show about America, about the themes of Middle America, of what we brought to this country as immigrants, what we worshipped when we came here, what we’ve left behind, all the new things that have been brought to the shores of this country by the immigrants that make up this beautiful nation.””It felt very right that we were in Oklahoma,” Tucker adds, “that we were in this area that is not Hollywood, that’s not a backlot, it’s not a studio, we’re not in Toronto — this was real, man.



“Please let your child know that discussion of 13 Reasons Why is not permitted at school due to the disturbing subject matter.”Meanwhile, the Hamilton Wentworth District School Board also expressed concerns to families, as Variety reports. Vincent Elementary School Principal Azza Ghali notified parents and guardians of grade six students of the situation via an email this week. Posted April 28, 2017 by Stephanie Topacio LongThere’s no denying that Netflix’s “13 Reasons Why” has struck a chord, but with some viewers, it is the wrong one.The drama series has been been both praised and criticized for its depiction of a teen suicide and the events leading up to it, and the latter reaction is becoming more common among schools in Canada. The board warns in a letter on its website that the show “may harm students who struggle with mental health challenges.” The message noted the graphic content, as well as the “glamorization of suicidal behaviors” and “negative portrayals of helping professions” that may deter students from seeking help.Such complaints have been levied at “13 Reasons Why” in the past, but there is no clear consensus on whether the show’s message is positive or negative. In fact, at least one Canadian elementary school has banned students from even discussing the show at school, according to CBC.St. One of the show’s writers argued in an op-ed that “13 Reasons Why” inspires necessary conversations, but mental health professionals’ opinions have been divided.In spite of the controversy, Netflix is reportedly nearing a Season 2 renewal, so “13 Reasons Why” probably isn’t going anywhere, much as some educators might wish it would.[via: CBC; Variety] Ghali referenced the show’s mature and controversial content, which includes sexual assault and suicide, among other difficult issues.”The discussion that is unfolding at school is troubling,” she wrote. She wrote that conversations about the show have been “troubling” and explained why the school does not want such discussions taking place on its grounds.



As big of a jump as that is, though, it doesn’t take an astrophysicist like Raj to calculate that they will still be making substantially less than their co-stars Jim Parsons, Kaley Cuoco, Johnny Galecki, Simon Helberg, and Kunal Nayyar. However, they earned series regular status in Season 4 and have become key members of the brilliant and nerdy group. Posted April 28, 2017 by Stephanie Topacio LongThe whole “Big Bang Theory” gang has officially agreed to two more season of the show — with huge paychecks.Of the CBS series’ lead actors, Mayim Bialik and Melissa Rauch were the final two stars whose deals needed to be finalized after the show was renewed through Season 12 in March. Now, their efforts are paying off.Bialik and Rauch were reportedly pulling in around $175,000 to $200,000 an episode prior to their new deals, but Deadlines sources indicate that they’ll earn somewhere between $425,000 and $500,000 per episode in the coming seasons. The other five will each command nearly $1 million per episode with their new contracts.To be fair, both Bialik and Rauch joined the show later than the others, coming on as guest stars in Season 3. (Bialik, for example, has received multiple Emmy nods for her work as Amy, plus won a Critic’s Choice Television Award.) Fortunately, the actress’ co-stars recognized their contribution and were nice enough to pitch in money toward their raises.Now that the deals have been made, we can look forward to “The Big Bang Theory” Season 11.[via: Deadline] Their contracts come weeks after their cast mates signed on the dotted line because the two were fighting for higher pay.



It’s a funny little tale, but the presence of Amy Schumer, Goldie Hawn, and Orlando Bloom made it even better. Posted April 28, 2017 by Stephanie Topacio LongBecoming famous hasn’t necessarily helped John Boyega’s love life.The “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” actor recently appeared on “The Graham Norton Show,” where he revealed how his role in the blockbuster once sank a date for him. He answered the question by showing her, and unfortunately, that put a damper on their date.”That picture in itself just kind of affected her,” he said, confirming that the relationship didn’t go anywhere.Alas, they were no Han and Leia (pre-split, that is).Watch the hilarious group discuss the story, among other topics, below.[via: “The Graham Norton Show”] The fellow actors added to the fun with amusing commentary, especially Schumer, who couldn’t resist a joke about reacting to “a guy with a huge saber.”As Boyega’s dating disaster story goes, he had taken a woman out in New York City. Everything was going well until she asked what he does, just as they happened to be driving through Times Square, where his Star Wars promotional images were on display.



Posted April 28, 2017 by Stephanie Topacio LongAnd so it begins … We don’t know how any of these places will play into the latest season yet, but we can’t wait to find out.Written by show creators Mark Frost and David Lynch, the story picks up 25 years after where “Twin Peaks” Season 2 left off. ET/PT on Showtime. again.The first teaser is here for Showtime’s “Twin Peaks” revival. This is a new season that comes more than 25 years after the last.When we finally get to welcome “Twin Peaks” back to the air, it is bound to enthrall us with more mystery. The new teaser, released Friday, shows familiar sights, including the Twin Peaks Sheriff’s Department, the Double R diner, the Fat Trout Trailer Park, the fog-laden woods, and more. Multiple stars from the original series are returning, including Kyle MacLachlan (Dale Cooper), Grace Zabriskie (Sarah Palmer), Everett McGill (Ed Hurley), and many others.”Twin Peaks” premieres Sunday, May 21 at 9 p.m. The 30-second video only offers glimpses at the continuation, but it is exciting nonetheless.



Or better yet, “Wonder Woman.”Two new TV spots are promoting the upcoming DC Comics superhero flick. It’s kind of a brilliant way of explaining how Diana gets her last name.”Wonder Woman” opens in theaters June 2. Her name doesn’t exactly roll off the tongue! Posted April 28, 2017 by Kelly WooHer name is Diana, Princess of Themyscira. will release more footage soon introducing Ares (David Thewlis in motion capture).The second promo is a bit more light-hearted, as Steve Trevor (Chris Pine) awkwardly tries to introduce this otherworldly Amazon in 1940s London. From off camera, he slashes at her with a sword — which she stops with her magical bracelets (around the 11 second mark):Yeah, not much to see, but perhaps Warner Bros. Most of the footage has already been seen in the trailers, but the first promo does have the briefest glimpse of an epic duel between Wonder Woman (Gal Gadot) and Ares. Eh, just call her Diana Prince.



but we were very happy to work together.” Roseanne was a factory worker, while husband Dan was a contractor. The original cast members — including Roseanne Barr, John Goodman, and Sara Gilbert — would reprise their roles.Original series producers Barr, Tom Werner, and Bruce Helford are on board, as is Gilbert and Whitney Cummings.Several outlets are reportedly bidding for the project, including original network home ABC and revival master Netflix (which has successfully made “Fuller House,” “One Day at a Time,” and “Gilmore Girls”). “Roseanne” was acclaimed for its honest depiction of a working class family. The show featured many notable guest stars, including George Clooney, Debbie Reynolds, Bruce Willis, and Sharon Stone.Like with the upcoming “Will & Grace” revival, the idea was born when Goodman appeared on “The Talk” with co-host Gilbert, and the two staged a mini-reunion.”Oh, hell yes … if we could get everyone together,” he told co-host Julie Chen of a potential revival. ABC is considered the “sentimental” favorite. “The Big R [Barr] and I did a pilot about five years ago that didn’t go anywhere … They and their three kids (later four) barely scraped by. Posted April 28, 2017 by Kelly Woo’Roseanne” may be the next classic series to get a revival.Deadline reports that an eight-episode limited series revival of the hit ’90s blue collar comedy is in the works.



Oh wait, Watson’s already done that kind of story. Posted April 28, 2017 by Kelly WooIf Disney decides to make a sequel to “Beauty and the Beast,” they can bring back Emma Watson not just as the star but as a writer, too!”I would love to do a sequel,” the actress told Access Hollywood. Perhaps she could take a new character, an orphaned boy with special talents, under her wing. “I always thought that Belle would become a teacher and she would run a library in the castle and open it up to the village.””Beauty and the Beast” was a mega blockbuster, earning more than $1.1 billion worldwide. And the antagonists could be a cruel teacher and a bullying student. So, talk of a potential sequel, or spinoff, started up as the movie continued to rake in cash.Watson’s idea definitely sounds like a plausible for Belle, whose love of books and learning is a defining characteristic.



The season also introduces members of the Otto family, survivalists who prepared for the fall of democracy. Entertainment Weekly debuted the first promo for the AMC spinoff drama, which features Madison laying about with her knife and threatening to kill anyone who gets in her way. Posted April 28, 2017 by Kelly WooUtter mayhem breaks out in Season 3 of “Fear the Walking Dead.” And Madison (Kim Dickens) is ready to survive at any and all costs. Season 3 picks up with Nick (Frank Dillane) and Luciana (Danay Garcia) having escaped death at the hands of the American militia group, but are still in a world of trouble. Alicia (Alicia Debnam-Carey) struggles with her mother’s murderous actions, while Ofelia (Mercedes Mason) deals with captivity. Meanwhile, Travis (Cliff Curtis) seems to run into a menacing group of people, while Strand (Colman Domingo) hangs off a ledge, literally. “Fear the Walking Dead” Season 3 premieres June 4 on AMC.



So is a spinoff just a figment of Diesel’s imagination or is Gunn simply being ultra-coy? And I know that Disney is very much into being successful. 2″s premiere. Hulk.’ … Until that spinoff is officially announced, we’ll just be over here playing with our Groot and Rocket action figures, thanks! There is a “Rocket and Groot” animated TV series listed on IMDb, but with Kevin Michael Richardson, who already voices Groot on “Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy” TV series. “Vin has a lot of ideas. I don’t know where he comes up with these things! Posted April 28, 2017 by Sharon KnolleVin Diesel thinks a Rocket and Groot “Guardians of the Galaxy” spinoff would be “huge,” and we can’t disagree.The actor, who voices the lovable tree creature, just told USA Today, “James Gunn has always wanted a Rocket and Groot movie. I love Vin,” he told USA Today at “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. [The world] cannot wait to see it.”However, Gunn (who wrote and directed both “GOTG” movies) seemed to cast doubt on that happening. And the most successful poster in Disney’s future is the poster that has ‘Groot vs.



Yes, the technology will definitely change but we still watch movies with older cars.And there is a little bit of magic to the technology.Oh, totally. I was a huge fan. I’m someone who would make a movie with that actor or actress and have them in every scene. These companies are young and fun and idealistic. But it’s like, no, you’d argue for good politics and ethnical politicians. Part of having a vibrant career is making those decisions.You’re of the age/resume of filmmakers who are having big projects thrown their way. It was raising money for an organization that Dave is part of. He is someone who would text me and say, “Turn on TCM, there’s a really obscure noir you need to watch.” I knew him through the lens of that experience.Everyone loved him and he seemed to genuinely love everybody. She just can’t possibly know. He was a great collaborator.Now that Tom Hanks has been in two of his adaptations, is he the Tony Stark of the Dave Eggers Cinematic Universe?I don’t know! He did it again and again. I was just excited that he was there.You dedicate the movie to Bill Paxton and his performance is so great and affecting. Everyone loved him, and he was known as being the nicest guy. But the truth is her vision for the future could be far worse. We wanted someone to come in and perform that feels very matter-of-fact, another Tuesday night at The Circle. What’s their background? Danny can do anything. And we got to the day and it was like, He’s really going to be there, huh? She’s the same optimist at the end of the movie that she was at the beginning. So a lot of it was just removing, removing, removing. John’s amazing, and you see Tom doing it as well. Was that important for you?Yeah, totally. Then he said, “We probably have another hour, hour and a half in us.” So I was like, “Cool!”Did he know your movies or was he a fan of the book or what? We think we know what 1946 or 1968 looks like, but 1996 is like now but not quite. So I was thrilled that he was going to do it, because his life was going to change very soon.As a filmgoer, I’m always excited when actors who are typically stars play a very different version that what they’re known for or play a supporting role. It’s hard to tell, but the camera swoops down and swirls around him; it’s pretty elaborate. Yes, they have offered things to me. I think a literal adaptation of that book would have had to be a 10-hour miniseries, and perhaps a great one.So Dave said that at the outset, but there was a part of me that was wondering. That’s pretty cool.Was there any fear that you were going to get to it too late? I was excited for “End of the Tour” because, like most of my films, there’s probably about 20 minutes of music. When “The Circle” came out, I was excited to read it was a Dave Eggers novel but it felt really different. The first draft of it he read and he sent me back a printed out copy with some penciled in notes but was very supportive. It was a lot of those things. But one is really fortunate to get amazing actors to play those other roles. That’s like making a movie about fascism and saying that you hate politics. Just watching their rapport was like, Yes, I would listen to one of our most celebrated novelists and one of our most celebrated actors talk all night long. But there’s the stuff with Tim Burton and the stuff with Sam Raimi. (Cinematographer Matthew Libatique, a frequent confederate of Darren Aronofsky’s, absolutely kills it.)It was a refreshingly wide-ranging conversation that covered everything from working with Eggers on the film’s screenplay to being one of the last filmmakers to direct the late, great Bill Paxton, to what his interest levels are in taking over a big Hollywood franchise. In the case of Tom Hanks’s character, what are the aspects of a charismatic person who really believes what he believes? “My pal Beck,” say that with quotes. But it depends. I think Dave’s book is tricky and fun. She’s a believer. I think that’s always a question. Has that happened to you? But something that is just part two or three or four or five doesn’t necessarily sound as exciting to me.I am writing something for Disney, but it’s an original idea that, if I’m lucky enough to make it, will be a much bigger budget than what I’m used to. She’s in every scene. And then it became a constant back-and-forth. He was great and had incredible dance moves and was spot on. The truth is, when you go to some of these places and I went to one of them for research and there was a free Hot Chip concert on a Thursday night. Does any of that stuff interest you?You know. That’s part of the dynamic of Mae’s family, it’s part of the drama, part of the anxiety, and one of the aspects of The Circle, which is that they have an amazing health care and can treat a member of her family with a preexisting condition. On one hand, it’s easy to do a naturalism, although “End of the Tour” had a period naturalism that was pretty hard actually because it was 20 years ago. There’s a lot. In the same way that the camera doesn’t stop moving when she starts working at the Circle, neither does the score.Can you talk about working with Beck?Yeah. It’s like a dark fairy tale or adult fable or something. When his name came up, I had been a huge fan forever but I didn’t think there was any way he’d do it. My time at tech campuses, I spent time in giant open floor plans with walls that say, “DISRUPT.” Where you’re like, is this a parody of itself? And the book really haunted me. But I’m excited to build that world. “Batman” was the first movie I ever bought and I was obsessed with “The Simpsons.” There’s definitely a sound. He was the first one to say, “What about this?” and “What about that?” The entire time I found it constantly inspiring. The filmmaker, who some will know from his previous films “The Spectacular Now” and “The End of the Tour,” makes bold leaps forward with this film, which is playful, colorful, and slick. Of course there’s a free Hot Chip concert and yoga and free food. They can also feel naïve but there is a youthful energy and spirit there, for better or worse. I was at an amazing fundraiser in San Francisco on Monday night, and Tom was the guest of honor. You go back to Oingo Boingo, there’s a lot of synth stuff there. Can you talk about your approach to casting?With the Three Wise Men, my first frame of reference was Dave’s book. In this case, I think people are used to anything involving technology being dystopian looking — cold and symmetrical and everyone wears white. Probably not. I think I’ve read everything of his since. We talked a lot about electronic music and I’m a huge fan of it. It’s like, “Who would have been a hacker programmer in real life?” What do those images look like? Some of the folks involved, like our music supervisor, grew up in L.A., and she had grown up in some of the same circles as Beck. There’s certainly a sense of humor to the book and hopefully the movie. It is satire and it is ridiculous and I’m not sure, when the book came out, that everybody read it that way. Watson and Hanks were there, as was the film’s director, James Ponsoldt, who I got to sit down with the next day in midtown Manhattan. He had this kind of aw-shucks Texas demeanor, but he was genuinely kind, properly disciplined; he knew how to do his job and was obsessed with getting the details right for his character and framing the character honestly and humanely and not judging the character.Like most great actors, he was most concerned with making his fellow actors feel good. I knew who Danny Elfman was before I understood what composers did. Did you ever find out?That’s a really good question. This year alone we’ve seen what disruption means and that can be aided by the Internet and Twitter, with people using it as a platform to affect elections in multiple countries. I didn’t want to tempt fate. It’s obvious that he understood how a set worked and what everyone’s job was and had a lot of respect for everyone. It’s a different type of pressure. Are they villainous like I think they’d be? He was the nicest guy. That’s what I was bringing to it.When I first talked to Dave about it he was just great, in as much as his take was, the book is the book, the movie should be the movie, it shouldn’t be blindly adherent. I don’t think so. It’s pretty cool, that relationship. There’s also the stuff he’s done with David O. I assume he read the book because he’s very cultured and he and Dave Eggers know each other. To some people, who are not fans of it, it can sound cold, but for me I’ve never found that. But beyond that I didn’t fish too much. It’s nice to build your own little universe and go on and build another one.”The Circle” is out today everywhere. So there will be those pressures. What was your experience with him? How do they talk? I don’t think it an overly techno-phobic or Luddite book. For me, I like ideas that aren’t beholden to massive corporate interests. So I checked there; I was thinking about people in the real world although they’re fictional characters. I would be, if I spent years on a novel, [apprehensive] if someone was diving into it and ripping it apart in some cases. Some of the movie plays like the most edge-of-your-seat TED talk you’ve ever watched, other portions are like “Black Mirror,” but with the more absurd elements toned down considerably.And you could feel those modern anxieties at the film’s premiere, as part of the Tribeca Film Festival, in New York. I don’t know what she told him. But we were trying to tell the story through one person.Was it fun going from the wintery desolation of “The End of the Tour” to “The Circle,” which is so sunny and bright and has graphics all over the place?Yeah. “A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius” came out when I was in college. And he was also a really good filmmaker. I have tremendous respect for those filmmakers, some of whom are friends of mine, who step into a franchise where there’s a lot of love for the graphic novel or whatever it is it’s based on. I had loved John in “Attack the Block” and met with him and found him to be so intense in the best way. I’m sure there were people on both sides who believed they were right and the other side was wrong.I wanted to ask you about someone who is becoming a regular collaborator: composer Danny Elfman. It made a huge impact on me and pretty much everyone I knew; we were all obsessed with the book. Because the story is very of-the-moment.Yeah, for sure! If you just fetishize the gadgets then, yes, that’s potentially a place where you can get into murky water. I feel bad, first and foremost, for his family, but it feels like a bummer for everybody — his family, his fans. Working with … He was the glue on set with this animating energy. Because when I found out Bill Paxton was in the movie I assumed he was one of the Three Wise Men. It’s so funny! But if your real concern is issues of privacy and surveillance and overreach and us and the way we relate to technology and our own ego and our desire for privacy and yet our desire to be known and our love of free and new stuff that might come with fine print that we may or may not read, I don’t see those issues going away.A few pages into Dave’s book, he says something to the extent of, “The Circle is a company that has subsumed all of its competitors.” It’s five minutes into the future, it’s an alternate now. But I was excited to collaborate with him in a way that I hadn’t heard him do before.With “The Circle,” it was a movie with a lot of sound, especially when she gets into the world of The Circle. I think there’s some belief that if you write something that engages with issues of technology, that you hate technology. I can’t wait to make a movie that’s John Boyega in every scene or Karen Gillan in every scene. As always, Ponsoldt is engaging and forthcoming. That would be really thrilling. He thinks the best film adaptations of books take the theme but invent and necessarily have to strip away and invent things for the screen. Really wants to democratize the world but that being said is making billions of dollars for the company, which muddies up the intentions.Bill’s character was hard because it’s tricky to portray someone with a chronic illness. You need an actor like Bill Paxton to get that character spot-on.Was it hard casting an actor as charismatic as John Boyega and leaving him in the back of the room for most of his scenes?Well, it’s Emma’s movie, right? I could imagine making a movie that’s an absolute no-budget movie or a movie with a pretty big budget. Personally, she’s not going to get into government regulation antitrust issues. So does the movie become moot? We went out of our way to make sure all of the tech in the film is either built from the ground up or seriously adapted from other things so you’ll really only see it in the film. It was plagued with genre and was a dark satire and Mae was a character who I felt was compelling and frustrating, and I realize my complicated relationship with the character was because I saw some of myself in the character, for better or worse, probably for worse. But I still didn’t think it would happen because I just assume things would fall apart. What do people who actually run multimillion-dollar companies look like? Tom has had no problem starring in movies but they also have no problem serving the story and being a supporting role. I hadn’t worked with him before, so my only frame of reference was with this film. But starting with Kraftwerk and onward there’s so much humanity and wit and warmth to it. But it’s easy to be a cynic in that world.You bring up cynicism and what’s interesting about Mae is that she never succumbs to cynicism. Danny is amazing. He had no ego in it at all. But it does have a sense of humor about it. And he was there and he was amazing! His score for this movie is amazing, and I don’t know that he’s ever done a score that’s this electronic.I don’t know that he has. Posted April 28, 2017 by Drew TaylorThere are few films as keenly of-the-moment as “The Circle.”This nifty little cautionary thriller, based on a book by vaulted author Dave Eggers, follows Mae (Emma Watson), a young woman who gets the chance of the lifetime when she’s given a job at a staggering tech behemoth (run, in part, by Tom Hanks, playing a character as charming as he is potentially dangerous). But they present their own challenges. Surprisingly, there’s a lot of human voice that’s been futzed with, or auto-tuned to the point that you can’t recognize it’s a human voice, which was intentional. In “The Circle,” ideas that are in the current conversational bloodstream, provocatively channeling our own fears about transparency, privacy, and surveillance are packaged within compelling character work and a familiar suspense framework. But that’s not how these companies look and feel, and it doesn’t benefit the story, it makes things a little too binary. And have they been influenced by other movies I’ve seen? He was charismatic, intense, and focused. And then we heard that he thought it’d be really fun. We wanted to create a soundscape for Mae that was overwhelming. I think any film in the history of films where technology is any part of it, you have that question, because technology changes. He is, like Mae in the film, totally transparent.What was it like adapting Dave Eggers with Dave Eggers?It was great. But he was just the best. He feels like a cultural commentator who is speaking not only to my generation, but definitely to my generation. Russell and Gus Van Sant. She’s a disrupter who, like all of us, believes our position is better than those that came before us. He should have been here for decades to come.Your take on casting is really interesting. Through Mae’s choices, there are tragic, cataclysmic repercussions, and it doesn’t mean that she doesn’t fundamentally changes her feelings about privacy or what she’s open to or what she sees in the future.



Smith.” He also wrote the scripts for the most recent “The Ring” sequel “Rings,” and “I, Robot.” It got terrible reviews (it’s got a 39% rating on Rotten Tomatoes) so a remake could actually be better.THR reports that Akiva Goldsman (“Winter’s Tale”) will direct for horror studio Blumhouse. Posted April 28, 2017 by Sharon KnolleAdd “Firestarter” to the growing list of remakes of Stephen King movies: New versions of “It” and a TV series of “The Mist” are already headed our way.The 1984 version of “Firestarter” starred Drew Barrymore as a young girl with pyrokinetic abilities who’s abducted by the government because — of course — they want to use her as a weapon. Jason Blum announced the news at the Overlook Film Festival at Timberline Lodge in Mt. It was the third film for Barrymore, who was nine when the movie opened. and Mrs. It stars Anna Torv (“Fringe”) and Frank Grillo as parents who take in an an orphaned girl with unworldly powers.Goldsman’s directorial resumé is slim, but he’s also produced big movies including “Paranormal Activity” films, “I Am Legend,” and “Mr. Hood, OR, where Goldsman’s latest film, “Stephanie,” premiered.



I have this decision to make.”Co-star Mindy Cohn tweeted a reunion photo for Rae’s birthday on April 22. The cast reunited in 2001 for a TV movie, “The Facts of Life Reunion.”happy birthday to my mrs. About seven years ago, I was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer — which is a miracle that they found it because usually it’s too late. “Now I have to figure out whether I want to go have treatment again to opt for life. “I’m not in any pain right now. Nobody even knew.”The actress, who just turned 91, says she hasn’t made up her mind whether to undergo treatment again. My mother, sister and my uncle died of pancreatic cancer. Posted April 28, 2017 by Sharon KnolleCharlotte Rae, who played beloved housemother Edna Garrett on “The Facts of Life,” has revealed she has bone cancer.She told People the heartbreaking news: “Last Monday, I found out I have bone cancer. I’ve had a wonderful one already. I’m feeling so terrific and so glad to be above ground,” she said. After six months of chemotherapy, I was cancer-free. I love life. I lost my hair, but I had beautiful wigs. g #91 #charlotteraepic.twitter.com/ucY69SYhqn
— Mindy Cohn (@MindyCohn) April 22, 2017Rae played Edna Garrett on “The Facts of Life” from 1979 – 1986, a role she first played on “Diff’rent Strokes.” Rae released her memoir, “The Facts of My Life,” in 2015.”At 91, every day is a birthday,” she says. “[In my book] I want to tell everybody to celebrate every day, to savor the day and be good to yourself, love yourself, and then you can be good to others and be of service to others.Her most recent role was in “Ricki and the Flash.” She has also guest starred on “Pretty Little Liars” and “Girl Meets World.”We wish her all the best.



You can hear ones he developed in “about a dozen other shows and movies,” as he told Berkeley News. Posted April 27, 2017 by Stephanie Topacio LongSome “Game of Thrones” fans study the show like its their homework, but for some UC Berkeley students, it kind of will be.David J. Peterson’s goal is to teach his students about what it takes to create a naturalistic language, meaning one that shares hallmarks with real tongues that have evolved around the world.The expert-turned-instructor, who himself went to Berkeley, knows a thing or two about how to accomplish that feat. That’s why it so convincing when “Game of Thrones” characters switch into one of the show’s distinct foreign tongues.Since Peterson started working on the HBO series, it seems like he has become Hollywood’s go-to guy for realistic, fake languages. Valued at three units, the class will meet four days a week during the May 22-June 30 summer session. Peterson, the creator of Dothraki and High Valyrian, has signed on to teach the course “The Linguistics of ‘Game of Thrones’ and the Art of Language Invention” at the university this summer. He got into linguistics as an undergrad and later pursued a master’s degree in the field as well. We like that he is teaching the next generation, so for his sake, we hope his class doesn’t turn out a bunch of linguistics who want to fight him for his Iron Throne.[via: Berkeley News]



“Ingobernable” Season 2 will bring us another 15 episodes, which means we’ll get to see what happens to Emilia (Kate del Castillo), the fictional ex-first lady of Mexico. It also teases that Emilia will have to put up a fight to survive.A specific release date for “Ingobernable” Season 2 hasn’t yet been released, but expect the series to return to Netflix with more next year. In Season 1, Emilia had to go on the run after her husband was assassinated and she became a primary suspect. Posted April 27, 2017 by Stephanie Topacio LongNetflix is bringing back the Spanish-language series “Ingobernable” (“Ungovernable”) for a second season.The streamer unveiled a video announcement Thursday, promising another round of political drama in 2018. And that was only the beginning.From what we can glean from the new video, Season 2 will be just as intense; the announcement shows scenes of protesters (notably with the number 39 painted on their foreheads), violence, explosions, and general chaos.



There was a mistaken identity and McQueen didn’t look like himself. We talked to Jeff Gordon and he said that, when he was young, he would go really hard but you would wear out your car. So it’s my job to inspire them to do great work and once they do that work I judge it against one thing: Is this helping us tell our story and is it not helping us tell our story? I’m dealing with the best people in the business. That had a profound effect on him. So he could take care of all the technical stuff. If it’s not helping us tell our story yet why is that? There was a Cruz character. But we had to be really careful because our cars are characters. In “Cars 2,” you can easily say you have a little bit of an older McQueen and he’s at the top of his game and at the top of his celebrity. He’d say, “He might have passed me but he’s wearing out his tires and using all of his gas. I came from story but that is still the hardest thing. And age is the most obvious thing. In “Cars 2,” he’s maintaining. I got to sit down with the director at the Sonoma Raceway, a beautiful track in northern California (and a perfect backdrop to talk about all things cars) and he told me about his history with the franchise, the third act to Lightning McQueen’s story, and how Ron Howard’s “Rush” inspired the look of the film.Moviefone: Can you talk about your history with this franchise?Brian Fee: I started on “Cars” as a story assistant. And he [DP Jeremy Lasky] brings a lot to the table. And the young guys would pass him. We talked early on about not wanting any of the races to feel overly conservative. What was the story on the very first version of this movie?Very first version? It was a boy, not a girl. So how do you have that character fall from grace? So I worked with John on “Cars 2” and then worked with him in development of “Cars 3.” I was working on ideas and things and that’s when I was called into John’s office, unexpectedly. Because we were all drawing on paper, so I helped them finish their drawings. By that time I was considered more of a veteran story artist. A lot of the scenes are incredible because of his fantastic work. Fee had been a part of the first two “Cars” films but this was something altogether different; he’d have to wrangle hundreds of artists and animators and take the franchise back to its roots after the sequel threatened to derail the series. Posted April 27, 2017 by Drew TaylorIt’s no secret that Pixar bigwig John Lasseterloves cars, and it’s this love of cars that birthed the first “Cars” film (which he directed) and the sequel (which, after a period of development with another filmmaker, Lasseter ultimately took over and directed). And Cruz was a farmer. That was the beginning. But it was to help them get their work done. And I’ve looked at John as a mentor from day one, even as a story assistant, I was watching how John did it. Think Route 99. And John felt the pride of watching his son receive the award. There was a scene where the sign got tipped upside down. So anytime you go below the nose, because you think low angles are really dramatic, but once it goes below the nose you lose the eyes. I wanted to take what was already done and push it a little bit more.Were you referencing anything, either live-action or animation, when it came to the racing?We looked at a lot of stuff. At the same time I was terrified because I hadn’t directed anything before and I had a lot to learn in a very short amount of time.What was the biggest surprise when making the movie?I wouldn’t say there was a surprise, but the hardest thing was the story. It’s just like, let’s find the right times to push these angles on the characters to emphasize the grittiness of a real race. We know that.”What was your reaction?I was extremely honored they considered me for this; it was an honor they thought I was ready for this. And what that meant was that I helped the real story artists get their work done. He was the hotshot rookie. Everyone is an expert. The pride matched or even surpassed his own experiences of receiving awards. What can we do? There were hints of a mentorship between Lightning and Doc. So it’s really saying something that he was able to let go of his baby, handing the keys to “Cars 3″ over to Brian Fee, a relatively unknown story artist within the much larger Pixar framework. Because he’s a master at it.”Cars 3” opens June 16th. And by that I mean any of the angles. It’s a very extreme thing — the speeds and everything that happens down there. So it was always a balancing act.You’ve talked about how this is the third act of Lightning McQueen’s story. That’s when John told me, not asked, that I was directing “Cars 3.” Ed Catmull was there and he was the one who said, “We realize we’re not asking you. So there were some limitations and tradeoffs. Did he contribute anything story-wise?He contributed a lot, story-wise. McQueen was going through more of a midlife crisis. And try again.I know the studio is now mimicking real lenses in the computer when it comes to photography. It was busy work, really. So there was some really great racing things in there. I really liked that movie “Rush” and how they shot that. That happens with every athlete. But I think a lot of people have that experience. For him, on a personal level, I think the mentorship sank in more. So all I had to do was describe the look. We started looking at — you can’t do everything forever. Everything else was less difficult because I can trust everyone. And I was so excited because these characters were like family to me and I was excited to tell their story. In 10 laps, I’ll pass him.” And 10 laps later, he’d pass them.So the problem was, when those young people passed him and 10 laps later he didn’t pass them, that’s when he realized he’d lost some of the charge he had. So, one day I got the big boy pants and they let me be a story artist. What was your approach to the visuals and what lenses did you use?Having never done anything in live-action, I didn’t know the first thing about lenses, so, luckily, my DP knew everything about lenses. Later in the process, his son won a student Academy Award. But if that’s all you know and that’s your self-worth, how do you deal with the fact that you’ll never be what you once were?These movies obviously go through a thousand iterations. It took place in California, not the south. And the older he got, the more experience he got and he realized he didn’t have to wear out his car. The story supervisor at the time, the late Joe Ranft, I wanted to stay at the company and asked him, “How do I stay here?” And he said, “Make yourself indispensable.” It was the best advice I ever got. Because it was all about doing the very best you can and don’t show it to anybody until it’s the best it can be.I gave myself a very high bar and that helped me become an actual story artist. They would draw the important stuff and I would do the background, which just had to be traced over from drawing to drawing. How would you chart his adventure?In “Cars,” he was the latest greatest; he was the new kid on the scene. It’s weird to be the young green kid and wake up one day and realize that I’m a veteran now. It became: Is this shot about them being a car or a character? We could just get in there and play with the look. But that was bizarre territory and we quickly moved away from that.Obviously, John Lasseter is going to have to retire at some point, just like McQueen. That’s a lot for any filmmaker, much less a first-timer.But if that sounds like a stressful proposition, you wouldn’t be able to tell by talking with Fee. I learned on the job, learned from everybody I could, and worked on “Cars 2” with John Lasseter. And if it’s helping us tell our story, great!



Posted April 27, 2017 by Stephanie Topacio LongIf you don’t want any spoilers for “Game of Thrones” Season 7, you might need to stay off the internet.Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, who plays Jaime “The Kingslayer” Lannister, opened up about spoilers and leaks during an interview for the Build Series Monday, and he basically admitted that the truth is often out there.”Every year there are huge spoilers online where people find out real stuff and they will post it, and you go, ‘Oh my God, they just spoiled the whole season online!'” he said.That might sound bad if you don’t want Westeros’ secrets revealed ahead of time, but you shouldn’t worry too much. He hasn’t admitted anything, of course, but he did throw fuel on the fire by saying that “it might happen, who knows?” Basically, he may add Queenslayer to his resume, but he also might not.The rampant speculation and (possibly true) spoilers are definitely going to continue between now and “Game of Thrones” Season 7’s July 16 premiere, so like Coster-Waldau, we’re just going to roll with it. [via: Huffington Post] Typically, true spoilers get “lost in the shuffle,” the actor says.Coster-Waldau has heard plenty of interesting theories regarding his own character, especially the one that suggests Jaime will kill Cersei (Lena Headey), his twin-slash-lover. Take it from Coster-Waldau, who has learned that leaks aren’t actually a disaster. With how many “spoilers” there are that turn out to be false, it becomes nearly impossible to separate the good intel from the bad.



You’ll have to go somewhere unexpected to see it, though; contrary to what you might expect, the exhibition is launching at Singapore’s Marina Bay Sands instead of in the U.K., where the BBC series was filmed.Like the period drama’s six seasons, the exhibition features different time periods and places. The exhibition launches June 17, and those who wish to visit can pre-register for tickets on its official website.[via: Variety] Called “Downton Abbey: The Exhibition,” it gives visitors a chance to view the show’s sets and costumes, not to mention never-before-seen footage. It sounds like fun for any “Downton” die-hard, as long as they can get to Singapore to see it. Posted April 27, 2017 by Stephanie Topacio LongThe Crawley clan isn’t headed back to TV, but “Downton Abbey” fans can at least look forward to a return (of sorts) to their favorite British estate.NBCUniversal International Studios and Imagine Exhibitions have teamed up on a “Downton Abbey” immersive experience, as they announced Wednesday.



RIP💔 #GoneTooSoonpic.twitter.com/lu9qywdo57
— Taramisue (@TaraTenille08) April 27, 2017Apparantly, Michael Mantenuto died today. to the GOAT Michael Mantenuto also known as Jack O’Callahan from the greatest sports movie of all time #HeBelievedInMiraclespic.twitter.com/DRNAsPYAAR
— Jake (@Jaketoppen2) April 27, 2017I’m legitimately upset to hear of Michael Mantenuto’s passing and will probably watch Miracle tonight 🙁
— Christine Rousselle (@crousselle) April 27, 2017Saddened to hear of Michael Mantenuto’s passing. Posted April 27, 2017 by Stephanie Topacio LongSad news came Thursday, especially for fans of the 2004 Disney film “Miracle”: One of the stars, Michael Mantenuto, has died at age 35.The actor was found dead in his car by police in Des Moines, Washington, TMZ reports. One of them was 2008’s “Surfer, Dude” with Matthew McConaughey. (@MorganSimonski_) April 27, 2017[via: TMZ] He was a great actor especially in his portrayal of OC in ‘Miracle’ .. pic.twitter.com/kKw7NPauNd
— morgan. He later enlisted in the army and served in the Special Forces.Not surprisingly, the tragic news was met with sadness on social media; fans expressed their grief and paid tribute to the late actor.R.I.P. Olympic hockey team. rip michael mantenuto. He had committed suicide by shooting himself, according to the coroner.In college, Mantenuto played hockey at the University of Maine. His work as Jack O’Callahan was legendary. #RIPMike
— PNHS Meme Team (@Not_Hank_Hill) April 27, 2017@Buccigross one of Cawlidge Hockey’s greats passed today.. pic.twitter.com/dIUcNrDcOF
— Ryan Medellin (@Ryan_Medellin) April 27, 2017Rip Michael Mantenuto 😭 You will always be the cutest hockey player!! He later used those skill in “Miracle,” a film that tells the underdog tale of the legendary 1980 U.S. RIP Michael Mantenuto. His character, Jack O’Callahan, was a key member of the gold medal-winning squad who went on to play in the NHL.Although “Miracle” received a positive reception and even won the 2004 ESPY Award for Best Sports Movie, Mantenuto only starred in three movies over the course of his acting careerl. #miracle
— Rachel Louise Taylor (@Racheltaymusic) April 27, 2017so sad.