However, most of the film’s sales are coming from overseas markets — the title will easily pass $300 million worldwide by the weekend’s end.Paramount’s “Baywatch,” however, is another story. “The good news is that June looks to deliver the goods and no movie is better suited to lead the cavalry charge than ‘Wonder Woman’ later this week. The movie is in fifth place during its second weekend, and is adding $7.4 million to its total from 2,801 theaters.”It’s crunch time for the industry after a lackluster May and a dismal Memorial weekend,” said Paul Dergarabedian, Senior Media Analyst at ComScore. By the end of the weekend it will have earned $23 million domestically from 3,647, far below earlier expectations.Fox’s “Alien: Covenant,” which opened to a disappointing $36 million last weekend, is sliding to fourth place with $13.15 million from 3,772 locations. 2″ which is holding onto second place over the holiday weekend, earning an additional $25 million from 3,871 locations. The splashy summer comedy starring Dwayne Johnson and Zac Efron, which carries a production budget well above $60 million, got only a sprinkling of audiences to buy tickets. Rounding out the top five, the YA adaptation “Everything, Everything” looks to have been a wise, albeit low budget, investment. The pressure is certainly on for the final three quarters of the season to get us out of this downturn.” The swashbuckling adventure picked up $77 million over the four-day weekend from 4,276 locations. Posted May 29, 2017 by ReutersBy Seth KelleyLOS ANGELES, May 29 (Variety.com) – This Memorial Day weekend signals a sluggish end to a dreary summer box office start. This four-day weekend’s total domestic earnings ($172.3 million) are the lowest recorded since 1999 ($142.5 million) when “Star Wars: Episode I — The Phantom Menace” opened in first place.The lone bright spot of this summer so far is Disney and Marvel’s “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. Its total domestic cume stands at over $338 million, and worldwide it’s made over $788 million, passing the original “Guardians” movie ($773 million worldwide).Disney also took the top slot this weekend with “Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales,” the fifth installation in the franchise starring Johnny Depp.

Posted May 29, 2017 by Rachel HornerPetra Solano (Yael Grobglas) is the HBIC on “Jane the Virgin.” She’s fierce AF, hysterical, overly dramatic, and has confidence out the wazoo.If it wasn’t for Jane, Petra would be the star of the show. You know, when her twin sister isn’t ruining her life.These are the 11 reasons we’ll always want to grow up to be Petra.

An Amazon search turns up more than 10,000 books with “dog” in the title

These are meaningless statistics. You need to show that your ideas are not just pie in the sky, but real action steps that will lead to concrete results and a connection to an existing readership. Book proposals are used to sell   nonfiction   books to publishers. Your memoir is not salable unless you’re confident of several things. (In some   cases, a ghostwriter may come into play, but this typically requires deep pockets on the part of the author or a very motivated   publisher.)
The biggest mistake writers make in their book proposals
It’s natural to assume the book proposal should discuss what your book is about. No following/friending required; just show up on my Facebook page at the appointed hour. The writer hasn’t articulated a clearly defined market or need—or the writer has described a market that’s too niche for a commercial publisher to pursue. The most important thing is to show how your book concept will play out from beginning to end, and strongly convey the scope and range of material covered. Some agents may even ask for both the proposal and the complete manuscript if you’re an unpublished author. A U.S. Your offline following—speaking engagements, events, classes/teaching, city/regional presence, professional organization leadership roles and memberships, etc. But this is a mistake. You have to convince agents and editors you’re the perfect author for the book. It can be very tempting to make a broad statement about who your audience is, to make it sound like anyone and everyone is a potential reader. You should be able to clearly   differentiate your title from the competition, and show why there’s a need for your book. More resources on book proposals

Agent Ted Weinstein outlines the necessary parts of a book proposal, and also   offers an audio recording of his 90-minute workshop on proposals. Publishers don’t need to be given broad industry   statistics; they need   you to draw a clear portrait of the specific type of person   (beyond “book buyers”) who will be interested in   your book. Would you be OK reading a serious   guide on how to invest in the stock market by someone who   is living in a van down by the river?)
Some types of nonfiction   can be credibly pitched   by anyone with proven journalistic or storytelling skills. Big houses may want to sell as many as 20,000 copies in the first year to justify publication; smaller presses may be fine with a few thousand copies. If a publisher is convinced by your argument, it contracts you and pay you to write the book. Chapter outline (or table of contents)
A chapter outline works well   for narrative or meaty works, especially those that are text-heavy and anticipated to come in at 80,000 words or more. Make it concrete, realistic, and attach numbers to everything. The most common problem leading to rejection: no author platform
A sizable platform and expertise is typically required to successfully sell a nonfiction book to a major publisher, especially for competitive categories such as health, self-help, or parenting. You might be okay discussing just a few titles if your book is on a specialized topic or for a very narrow audience. (Would you, as a reader, trust a health book by an author with no medical experience or degrees? Eastern. The   problem with pitching memoir
Submission guidelines vary tremendously when it comes to pitching memoir. Addiction and cancer memoirs, for example, are common, and will put you on the road to rejection unless you’re able to prove how yours is unique or outstanding in the field. My favorite comprehensive   guide on book proposals is   How to Write a Book Proposal   by agent Michael Larsen. Weak
I plan to contact conferences and speak on [book topic]. A book proposal argues why your book (idea) is a salable, marketable product. Plus, given the significant change in the publishing industry, authors shouldn’t consider a print book their first goal or the end goal, but merely one way,   and usually not the best way, for making money. It’s still necessary to prove there’s a market for that story, but you won’t be successful in your pitch if you can’t deliver on the writing. For each entry in your competitive title analysis, begin by listing the title, subtitle, author, publisher, year of publication, page count, price, format, and the ISBN. Strong
I have also guest blogged every month for the past year to reach another 250,000 visitors, at sites such as [include 2-3 examples of most well-known blogs]. Note from Jane: I’m offering an interactive course on nonfiction book proposals that begins   June 5. Looking for more help? Note:   You may occasionally hear someone refer to novel proposals, which typically includes a query or cover letter, a synopsis, and a partial or complete manuscript. Never discuss what you hope to do, only what you can and will do (without publisher assistance), given your current resources. Professional, published writers can typically sell a memoir based on the proposal alone, if they clearly have writing chops or publication credits to back up the proposal. At the publishing house I worked at, this was called “evidence of need.” Why this book? It’s not out of the question for a   proposal to   reach 50 pages   or more   for complex projects once sample materials are included. Traditional houses are pickier than ever; producing anything in print is a significant investment and risk. If there are truly no competitors, then your book might be so weird and specialized that it won’t sell. Many people write their marketing plan in extremely tentative fashion, talking about things they are “willing” to do if asked. The secret of a marketing plan isn’t the number of ideas you have for marketing, or how many things you are willing to do, but how many solid connections you have—the ones that are already working for you—and how many readers you NOW reach through today’s efforts. If you have a way to reach readers, without a publisher’s help, then you’re more likely to get a book deal. Competitive title analysis
This section analyzes competing book titles and why yours is different or needed. Rather than focusing on the content, focus   on why the content will benefit the reader or why the reader will care. But don’t just copy and paste your bio into the proposal and consider the job done. The writer wants to do a book based on his or her own amateur experience of overcoming a problem or investigating a complex issue. If your book doesn’t require a narrative structure,   then your skills as a writer mainly   have to be up to the task of producing and revising a book manuscript with an editor’s or agent’s guidance. Especially in fields such as health, self-help, or parenting, your credibility and platform as a professional in the field may be   most   critical; your background must convey authority and instill confidence in the reader. If properly developed and researched, a proposal can take weeks   or longer to write. Strong
I am in contact with organizers at XYZ conferences, and have spoken at 3 events within the past year reaching 5,000 people in my target audience. Always discuss the content in relation to the reader’s need or society’s needs. This is deadly language. You don’t need to list things such as Amazon ranking, star rating, or reviews. It acts as a   business case or business plan for your book that persuades a publisher to make an investment. Target market or target audience
Who will buy   your   book? Instead, you need to be confident, firm, and direct about everything that’s going to happen with or without the publisher’s help. Some agents don’t require a book proposal for memoir, while others want only the book proposal and the first few chapters. The book proposal persuades agents/editors that   readers   will pay $20 or more for the benefit that your book provides. Many book ideas I see pitched should really start out as a site or community—even if only to test-market the idea, to learn more about the target audience, and to ultimately produce a print product that   has a ready and eager market once it’s published. (Here’s a definition of platform.)   An agent or editor is going to evaluate your visibility in the market, and will want to know the following:

The stats and analytics behind your online following, including all websites, blogs, social media accounts, e-mail newsletters, regular online writing gigs, podcasts, videos, etc. Author bio
It can be helpful to begin with a bio you already use at your website or at LinkedIn. For each chapter, you write a brief summary of the idea, information, or story presented, usually 100-200 words per chapter. Weak
I plan to contact bloggers for guest blogging opportunities. Avoid it. Sample chapters
If you’re writing a narrative work that has a distinct beginning, middle, and end, then include sample material that starts at the beginning of the book. Eastern on June 1. (You can see this played out in the rejections received by award-winner Rebecca Skloot.)
If your book’s purpose is to   impart useful information or to benefit readers’ lives, then you’re selling it based on the marketability of your expertise, your platform, and your concept. Also don’t worry about including the sales numbers of the competing titles. Marketing plan
What can you specifically do to market and promote the book? Avoid generic statements like these:

A Google search result on [topic] turns up more than 10 million hits. They need to know there’s an audience waiting to buy. Show how your expertise and experience give you the perfect platform from which to address your target audience. Then comes the   most important part: for each competitor, you   briefly summarize the book’s approach in relation to your own (about 100-200 words per title). The New York Times recently wrote about the increased interest in military memoirs; [X and Y] media outlets regularly profile soldiers who’ve written books abour their experience. Instead of writing the entire book, then trying to interest an editor or agent (which is how it works with novels), you write the proposal first. What need does it fulfill? Recent reviewers of [X books] complain that they   are not keeping up with new information and trends. But having the manuscript complete does not get you off the hook when it comes to writing   the proposal. Keep in mind that for some nonfiction topics and categories, the availability of online information can immediately kill the potential for a print book. The   analysis typically includes   5-10   titles. If you’re told the market isn’t big enough, maybe you approached too big of a publisher. If you’re writing about situations that affect thousands (or millions) of people, that’s not necessarily in your favor. Avoid generically describing the book buying audience in the United States, or—for example—broadly discussing how many memoirs sold last year. Resist trashing the competition; it will come back to bite you. And if you want to use both, that’s completely acceptable. I offer book proposal consultations and critiques if you have a proposal draft ready for review. Finding a   literary agent (and do you need one?)
If you are   writing a book that has significant commercial value, or   you want to publish with a New York house, then you’ll need to submit your work to literary agents. And don’t skimp on your title research—editors can tell when you haven’t done your homework, plus fully understanding the competition should help you write a better proposal. Your presence in traditional media (regular gigs, features, any coverage you’ve received, etc)
Your network strength—reach to influencers or thought leaders, a prominent position at a major organization or business
Sales of past books or self-published works

You typically need to be visible to tens of thousands of people, with   verifiable influence, to interest a major publisher. Also, you can join me for   a free introductory session on getting your nonfiction book published and ask questions during my Facebook Live session on Thursday, June 1, at 7 p.m. It needs to sing and present a water-tight business case. The most common   book proposal sections
While there’s no single “best” way to write and assemble a book proposal—it will depend on the   category, the author, and the publishers’ submission guidelines—the following sections appear   in almost every   book proposal. We need to be able to envision who the readers are   and how they can be marketed to. While proposal length varies tremendously, most are somewhere around   10 to 25   pages double-spaced, not including sample chapters. If writing a chapter outline seems redundant or unnecessary for your book’s content, then use a table of contents. That is: To learn how to lose weight, readers don’t need a poet; they need a clear communicator who can deliver her ideas and methods in a way that will help readers achieve their   goals. If your memoir is your very first book or very first writing attempt, then it may not be good enough to pass muster with an editor or agent. Common problems with book proposals

They’ve been submitted to an inappropriate agent, editor, or publisher. Don’t try to get off easy by using the introduction; this is your opportunity to show that you can deliver on your book’s promise. Travel is a good example—its print sales have declined by 50 percent since 2007. The proposed idea is like a million others; nothing compelling sets the book apart. If it has a specific edition number, include that, too. Projects that don’t necessarily require agents include scholarly works for university presses, books likely to be published by regional or independent presses, and other   niche titles   with little commercial value. Is there a smaller publisher that would be interested because they have a lower threshold of sales to meet? For professors and academics, I recommend taking a look at The Professor Is In. Overview
This comes at the very beginning of your proposal; think of it as the executive summary, around two to three pages. Why will it sell? (No expertise or credentials.)
The writer concentrates only on the content of the book or his own experience—instead of the book’s hook and benefit and appeal to the marketplace. Strong
Within 6 months of launch, my blog on [book topic] already attracts 5,000 unique visits per month. Why does it matter? I have invitations to return on each site, plus I’ve made contact with 10 other bloggers for future guest posts. The following statements show better market insight:

Media surveys indicate that at least 50% of quilters plan to spend about $1,000 on their hobby this year, and 60% indicated they buy books on   quilting. The concept is too general or broad, or has no unique angle. Your writing must be outstanding. While everyone expects the writing to be solid, they’re probably not expecting a literary masterpiece. If this is a weak area for you, look for other strengths that might give you credibility with readers or help sell books—such as connections to experts or authorities in the field, a solid online following, and previous success in marketing yourself and your work. New, emerging writers who have no publishing track record will likely be asked to submit a complete manuscript to prove they can write,   sometimes in addition to the book proposal itself. (I discuss   the research process here.)
Whatever you do, don’t claim there are no competitors to your book. There’s no way for an average author to find out that information, and the agent or editor can look it up   if required. Census shows more than 20 million people in this demographic. Your proposal must focus on these questions, and not   get lost in explaining your book’s ideas. Join me for a free Q&A on Facebook

All that’s required is that you visit my Facebook page at 7 p.m. This bears little to no relation to a nonfiction book proposal. In as much detail as possible, discuss an   identifiable market of readers who will be compelled to spend money on your information or story in book form. Weak
I plan to register a domain and start a blog for my book. New writers might find it easier to simply write the book first, then prepare a proposal—which isn’t a bad idea in the case of narrative nonfiction, since many editors and agents want assurance that an unknown writer has sufficient writing chops to pull off their project. You must have a compelling and unusual story to tell. I suggest you write it last. Your business case may matter   more than the writing
People don’t like to hear   this, but for many nonfiction books, the   artfulness of the writing   doesn’t matter as much as the marketability of the book or the author. You have the start of a   platform. (Think of a narrative nonfiction book, such as   Seabiscuit.) If your book must succeed based on its ability to artfully weave a story,   then your strength as a writer becomes more and more important. If your work isn’t a narrative, then write or include a sample chapter that you think is the meatiest or most impressive chapter.

We literally saw his heart stabbed in “Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End,” the weirdest (and best) film in the original trilogy.What does it all mean?!I asked “Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales” filmmakers Joachim Rønning and Espen Sandberg about the post-credits sting and they were harder to pin down than one of Davy Jones’s tentacles. But we also wanted to keep it alive. So it’s not up to us. He thinks it’s a dream. Not only is Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) freed from piloting the Flying Dutchman (and doing whatever else Davy Jones does, something with souls) but it seems that all of the curses that have governed the sea have gone kaput, too. “There was a lot of conclusions in this film and that rounds it up in a nice way, hopefully. And how? and barnacles. If you didn’t see it yourself, let me start by explaining the sequence:Will Turner is in bed with his bride, Elizabeth Swann. We’re certainly crossing our fingers for another movie because we love the characters and love that universe, and Henry and Carina have just started. We’ll see how many people show up and what the demand is.”While they safely navigated my inquiry, I had to press on, and asked them one more question about the conclusion of the film, when Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) says that he’s going to go beyond the horizon. “That was just a dream!” Sandberg said with a laugh before explaining how the scene came to be. What did he mean by that? Maybe most shocking of all (more shocking than the surprise Keira Knightley cameo or those ghost sharks) is how much of the previous mythology it undoes by the time the credits roll. He is sleeping and wakes up, looking around the room and finally settling on an iconic shape: the shadowy, squirming tentacles of Davy Jones. He does a double take and when he looks again, the shape is gone. But the camera moves over to where the shadow was and there is dripping water … Where is he going?”Probably just beyond the horizon,” Rønning said.And with that I waved my white flag in defeat.”Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales” is out now. Posted May 28, 2017 by Drew TaylorSpoilers abound. That means the Mayan curse from the first film and all of the supernatural weirdness that followed have evaporated like so much salty sea air.But by the time the credits roll, that major upheaval has already reversed itself. Is Davy Jones back? So [the tag] was just a little treat to do that. Seriously people, turn back now. It’s really up to the audience. Dead men tell no tales …”Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales” does a lot to honor the tradition of the films that came before it, while forging a unique path all its own.

“It’s problematic to be shooting out of order and then suddenly you come to a scene that hasn’t been written yet. “I don’t know where I got that from. “It put Whoopi and me in a difficult position,” Director Emile Ardolino said after the movie was released. Meanwhile, Midler developed misgivings about the project and dropped out. Najimy said she later sent Hart a bouquet of roses, without telling her why.11.Wendy Makkena (above, center) also made a splash as Sister Mary Robert, the shy nun who turns out to have a booming singing voice. The script still wasn’t finished even when filming was well underway. This one came from Delois Blakely, a former nun who claimed she was the inspiration for the movies and the stage show. Chasuble” (after the clergyman in “The Importance of Being Earnest”) or “Goofy.” Eventually, he made up the bland name “Joseph Howard,” and that’s the name that appears in the credits of both “Sister Act” movies, even though Rudnick had nothing at all to do with the second one.8. Screenwriter Paul Rudnick said he came up with the idea for “Sister Act” while trying to write something like a drag comedy with a female star and deciding that a nun’s habit was close enough to drag for a woman.2. Why would I say such a thing? (In a twist on the “Sister Act” plot, Blakely claimed she’d once offered legendary Harlem crime lord Bumpy Johnson, to whom she dedicated her book, sanctuary from other gangsters by hiding him in her convent. “Sister Act” earned $140 million at the box office in North America and another $92 million abroad, making it the sixth largest-grossing movie of 1992.15. In a life-imitates-art instance, Najimy said that, during the Reno part of the shoot, she and Makkena would spend their downtime at the blackjack tables, with their habits on, with drinks and cigarettes in hand, and they’d laugh at the reactions they got from the other gamblers.13. “I said, ‘My fans don’t want to see me in a wimple,'” she recalled in 2010. She sought $1 billion in damages, but the suit was dismissed, and Blakely went away empty-handed. Alas, that voice isn’t Makkena’s; it belongs to voice actress Andrea Robinson.12. Everybody and their mama has seen this film.”Indeed, since it opened 25 years ago this week, on May 29, 1992, Goldberg’s singing-nun comedy has been inescapable, launching a two-film franchise, a world-touring Broadway musical, and Motown-inspired choral arrangements at churches everywhere.Despite all that joy and spirit on screen, however, the story behind the film is one of strife, hurt feelings, and litigation. During the Broadway run, there was a second copyright lawsuit filed against, Disney, Rudnick, Rudin, Sony Pictures, Stage Entertainment (the production company behind the Broadway show) and others. So Whoopi [Goldberg] did it instead and, of course, she made a fortune. No word on whether Whoopi will participate, but the Lord works in mysterious ways. Goldberg has said she didn’t want to make a third “Sister Act” movie because some of the original actresses had passed away. They claimed they had sent the screenplay developed from the book to Midler, Goldberg, and Disney at various times, and that there were more than 100 similarities between their script and “Sister Act.” The pair sought $200 million in damages, and when Disney offered them a $1 million settlement, they turned it down. One of Disney’s thorniest problems with the project, according to Rudnick, was whom to cast as the detective who is Goldberg’s sorta-love-interest. Yep, “Beverly Hillbillies” star Donna Douglas and partner Curt Wilson sued Midler, Goldberg, Disney, and several other entities for copyright infringement, claiming that “Sister Act” was stolen from “A Nun in the Closet,” a book for which Douglas and Wilson’s production company had optioned the movie rights.18. She had written an autobiographical manuscript, “The Harlem Street Nun” (which she finally published as an e-book), which her filing said told the story of the decade she’d spent as a “young, Black, singing nun serving the street people and youths of Harlem.”21. The movie’s convent is supposed to be in a seedy San Francisco neighborhood, but the Noe Valley area of the city where “Sister Act” filmed was actually pretty upscale. Thanks to the magic of the production design crew, the streets were soon marked by decaying storefronts, abandoned cars, and piles of garbage.14. Rudnick’s script underwent many other changes, thanks to months of second-guessing by Disney executives and multiple rewrites by expensive script doctors, including Carrie Fisher,Robert Harling (“Steel Magnolias”), and Nancy Meyers.7. Goldberg’s only condition for accepting the role: that Rudnick change the heroine’s first name to Deloris, since she’d always wanted to play a character named Deloris.6. Later, it would move to the West End in London, where Goldberg served as a producer and briefly played the Mother Superior. Read on to learn about the hubbub behind the habits.1. For research purposes, Rudnick arranged to stay at the Abbey of Regina Laudis in rural Connecticut. Soon, Midler and Disney (where she had a production deal) were on board.3. Blakely claimed she’d sent her life story to executives at Tri-Star (a distributor later purchased by Sony), who’d allegedly forwarded it to Rudin, who got the movie made at Disney. Nonetheless, Disney announced in 2015 plans for a reboot, to be written by “Legally Blonde” screenwriters Kirsten Smith and Karen McCullah. Ultimately, the role went to a black actor, the aptly named Bill Nunn.10.Kathy Najimy found stardom as the irrepressibly perky and optimistic Sister Mary Patrick. The “Sister Act” stage musical originated in 2006 in Pasadena. Posted May 28, 2017 by Gary SusmanBefore the stage musical version of “Sister Act” opened in London in 2009, Whoopi Goldberg noted how iconic her 1992 film had become, then chuckled that “to put ‘Sister Act’ and ‘icon’ in the same sentence seems so ridiculous. Was either choice politically incorrect? Over time, Rudnick’s bawdy satire became a family-friendly Disney script, and he asked the studio to remove his name from the project. Then she went on and did ‘Sister Act 2.'”5. Should he be black or white? What precedes it? Now, there’s a movie.)22. Rudnick said one Disney suit thought a brilliant compromise would be the Latino star Edward James Olmos. What follows it?” The star and the director both complained to the studio, but they still managed to film something every day, Ardolino said.9. For “Sister Act 2,” Disney paid her a then-unprecedented $7 million — an amount equal to the entire budget for the first film — allowing Goldberg to claim, at least for a short while, to be the highest-paid actress in Hollywood.17. After the strain of her squabbles with the studio during production, Goldberg refused to do interviews to promote “Sister Act.” But the movie’s box office success led Whoopi and Disney to bury the hatchet and agree to make a sequel the following year.16. Dropping out of the project didn’t protect Midler from being sued over it, by none other than Elly May Clampett. The Goldberg-produced show finally made it to Broadway in 2011, where it ran for more than a year and earned five Tony nominations, including Best Musical.20. (She had co-starred in two Elvis Presley movies and the spring break classic “Where the Boys Are” before taking her vows.) After two days at the abbey, Rudnick had interviewed a couple of nuns and observed their austere lifestyle, but he left without ever meeting Mother Dolores.4. Disney was willing to credit the screenplay to a pseudonym, but the studio balked at Rudnick’s suggestions that he be credited as “R. He and producer Scott Rudin decided that Bette Midler was the ideal choice to play his Terri Van Cartier, a showbiz floozy who flees mobsters and hides in a convent. But it really is. When the case went to trial, the defendants won, and Douglas and Wilson didn’t earn a penny.19. He was hoping to meet Mother Dolores Hart, who had famously abandoned Hollywood to become a nun as her career was peaking. She recalled having a hard time finding the key to her character until she watched an episode of “Entertainment Tonight” and decided to emulate its famously chirpy anchor, Mary Hart.

Not only does the pirate ship Hei Peng go down a waterfall to get to Davy Jones’s Locker but the sequence is followed by a brief moment where the screen goes black and actual audio from the original attraction is heard. Most notably there’s a skinny man shivering nearby as a man is dunked in a well. (These commitments carried over to the film series that bears the attraction’s name.)With the latest film, “Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales,” opening in theaters this weekend, we thought we’d look back at some of the ways the films have paid homage to the attraction that now appears in almost every Disney Park around the world. Now, to me, this seemed like a nod to the “crystal caves” moment during the attraction (right alongside those stalagmites and stalactites). Crystals, gemstones, they’re all pretty much the same, right? But the waterfall sequence did end up in the third film in the trilogy. One of the defining features of this location, geologically, are stalagmites coming up from the water. Now dopey subtitles are as much a staple of the franchise as pirates.) There are few images as iconic and as deeply associated with the attraction as that skeleton, and while there are many skeletons in the movie (and in the subsequent sequels), this sadly never makes it into any of the actual film.• The Song”Yo Ho (A Pirate’s Life for Me)” is the song sung in the original attraction (it was cooked up by X Atencio and George Burns, two longtime Imagineers) and it makes an appearance three times in the first film: in the opening sequence sung by a young Elizabeth Swann, then again by Elizabeth when she’s marooned on the island with Jack Sparrow, and then by Jack himself in the final scene. At the very end of the movie, Jack and the rest of the pirates end up on an island covered with jewels. This struck me the first time I saw it as both a really cool homage and also evidence that the movies were running out of things to take from the attraction.”Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales” (2017)I’ve only seen the movie once, but I took notes on what I thought were winks and nods to the original attraction. Still, there are some nods.• Down the WaterfallIn early drafts of the original film there was a sequence where Jack and Will go down a waterfall, a direct reference to the ride mechanics of the original attraction, which sees you start out in New Orleans before plummeting back in time to pirate-land. Something tells me that people who have never even ridden the ride will know this reference. Posted May 27, 2017 by Drew TaylorThe “Pirates of the Caribbean” movies are, of course, greatly inspired by the original Pirates of the Caribbean attraction that debuted at Disneyland in Anaheim, California, in 1967. Still, keen-eyed fans will spot some very pointed references to the original attraction and they are awesome.• Tia Dalma’s HouseTowards the end of the movie, the pirates make their way down the Pantano River, where fireflies flicker overhead, Spanish moss hangs from the trees, and alligators snap in the water (I’m not sure if there are any actual snapping alligators in the movie but there should be). This is another one of the most famous images from the original attraction. But that’s not all! The general chaos and lunacy of the sequence seems to be a nod to the attraction and its anarchic humor.• Barbossa Drinking WineThere’s a sequence early in the attraction where you float past a skeleton drinking wine, the wine running down its ribcage. Considering what an unknown quantity the property was, all involved probably though they’d only get one crack at this.• That Teaser PosterOne of the very first images anybody saw for the movie based on the attraction was an image lifted directly out of the ride — a skeleton grabbing a ship’s steering wheel in the middle of a tropical rainstorm. Properly warned ye be, says I. The same thing happens with cursed pirate Barbossa in the film.• The Isle de Muerta SequenceThere are a few references to the attraction in the sequence towards the end of the film where everyone is gathered at the Isle de Muerta, to return the cursed Mayan gold. It was cut both for budgetary reasons and Eisner’s increasing fears about being too connected to the attraction. This is a direct nod to a sequence towards the end of the attraction, where your boat floats underneath “burning beams” (right before the brief shootout and the exit up the waterfall). With the introduction of Ponce de León into the fourth film’s story, Jack and Barbossa enter into a sequence that’s just like the tableau from the original attraction. They also include references to the original attraction. (In the cyclical, highly synergized world of Disney, the films are now inspiring the ride, with Jack Sparrow and Barbossa making appearances in the original attraction and an entire “Pirates of the Caribbean”-themed land opening in Shanghai.) Yo ho, indeed.”Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl” (2003)Released in 2003, the first film in the series is also the one most heavily indebted to the original attraction, with a line from the attraction seeming to inspire the entire concept of the movie (“No fear have ye of evil curses, says you? Who knows when that evil curse will strike the greedy beholders of this bewitched treasure?”). The cavern filled with a towering pile of gold is definitely a nod to the “treasure room” sequence towards the end of the attraction, right before you go back up the waterfall, and there’s an even more specific nod with the skeleton on the beach, surrounded by crabs, an image that appears much earlier in the Disneyland ride.”Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest” (2006)There are fewer references in Gore Verbinski’s super-sized sequel, which is probably the only thing there are fewer of in this movie. This makes for a lovely bookend to the movie and a very awesome tip-of-the-pirate-hat to the original attraction. Especially if you’re a thieving pirate.”Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales” is out now. (They look sort of like shark’s teeth.) This seems to be an affectionate homage to the cave sequences at the beginning of the attraction. And it makes for a very knowing bit of dialogue when Jack Sparrow comments that the dog is never going to move, since the dog in the attraction never does either.• The Whole Tortuga SequenceThis is a smorgasbord of references to the “burning town” sequence in the original attraction, which includes (but is not limited to) the appearance of a redheaded wench (“We want the redhead!”), pirates firing off their pistols, and franchise stalwart Gibbs wallowing in the mud with some pigs. These two are pretty big, though, in the grand scheme of moments from the attraction, and offer some diversionary joy.• Ponce de León’s BedThere’s a moment early on in the attraction known as the “Cabin’s Quarters,” where a skeleton is in a bed festooned with other skeletons (legend has it that those are actual human remains, by the way, obtained from a local medical school). They creep up to an old shack where the voodoo witch lives, and everything about this sequence screams the “Blue Bayou” opening sequence at the Disneyland attraction. It’s all so, so cool.• Barbossa’s DialogueThroughout the trilogy, Barbossa has been known to spout lines from the original attraction and the third film is no different. The directors told me that a character named “Pig Kelly” has an outfit that is taken “from one of the original drawings that Disney had for the ride.”• The TitleThis isn’t the first time the words “dead men tell no tales,” a direct reference to the original attraction, have been uttered in the franchise; it was first said by Cotton’s parrot in “Curse of the Black Pearl.” Co-director Joachim Rønning told us last week that it was the biggest reference to the original attraction.• Rock FormationsThis might be something of a stretch, but please hear me out (and a minor spoiler warning for those who are squeamish): early in the film, we’re given a glimpse of the Devil’s Triangle, a kind of purgatorial netherworld where Salazar (Javier Bardem) and his crew are trapped. Some of them are pretty deeply cut. It’s a wonderful reference in an otherwise dreary film.• Burning BeamsThe other big moment taken from the attraction for the fourth film is the sequence when Jack confronts his double (later revealed to be whoever Penelope Cruz was supposed to be playing), they end up fighting atop beams in a burning building. It was the last attraction that Walt Disney himself was personally involved in (he died in 1966) and you can feel Walt in the attraction — the humor, the playfulness, the commitment to technological innovation, and storytelling advancements. (Also, it’s sung twice in the third film, “Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End,” which serves as a nice button on the entire trilogy.)• The Dog With the KeysWhen Jack is locked away in a prison cell, several of the other prisoners try to bait a dog, who is clutching the keys to the jail in its mouth. Yar. Most notably, when they’re going down the aforementioned waterfall, he shouts: “You may not survive to pass this way again and these be the last friendly words you hear!” Classic.”Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides” (2011)The dismal fourth film only has a couple of references that I could pick out, which isn’t much of a surprise, considering the original production team was the one that really loved the original attraction and saw to it that the first three films were filled with loving homage after loving homage. (This was also, notably, before Michael Eisner had insisted on adding a dopey subtitle to the movie in an attempt to distance itself from the attraction. If anyone says, that the movies are nothing like the attraction, please point them to this moment, which is a direct (and highly specific) homage.”Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End” (2007)The third film in the series, one of the strangest big-budget studio films ever released and the gloriously over-the-top cap to Gore Verbinski’s original trilogy, has fewer references to the original attraction but that’s because it’s on its own wacky wavelength. Arrrgh … What’s interesting is that scene in the original attraction was supposed to set the stage for the attraction, since at that point you’re still supposed to be in New Orleans Square, before getting rocketed to the Caribbean.• Deleted Tortuga MaterialThere are a couple of moments set back at Tortuga, and they include material originally intended for the first film but included here. Even the tempo of that sequence, the way the boat gently drifts along and the air of melancholy, reminds you of that early moment in the attraction.

We like creating images for the big screen. And on this one they gave us the resources to go full out. I think it’s a combination of things — it’s the spectacle, the adventure, the comedy of course, it scares you, but most importantly it’s got heart. It was something that we pitched getting the gig, even.Sandberg: We also wanted him to have this backstory with Salazar. You can also sense his pain and you can also feel for him. But I do think that it is part of our style in a way, that kind of cinematic look. And the last thing that happened that made this a very good experience was that they liked our directors’ cut.What was the biggest change you made when you were retooling the screenplay?Rønning: I think what we worked on the most in this was Jack Sparrow’s origin story. And I think the reason for that is we had time to develop the script. And also when we started shooting you send off the dailies and everyone is looking at the set-ups that we shoot and they liked it, from very early on. We wanted to know who he is. These were movies that got into our blood. Much of that new-meets-old sensation comes courtesy of Norwegian directors Joachim Rønning and Espen Sandberg, who make their franchise debut with the new film.It’s their style that gives the movie a lot of its peppy, reverential energy — it’s clear that they’re fans of the series but also want to contribute something new and exciting, whether it’s a look back at Jack’s spirited beginnings to the mesmerizing effects that help bring Salazar and his crew to life.Talking with Rønning and Sandberg confirmed my suspicions, as we talked about their desire to add to the canon without stepping on any of the mythology, making the series scary again, and whether or not they’d return for another installment of the franchise. We wanted all of the characters to have a journey in this movie, and of course for Barbossa as well, to give that great character justice and give him a great finale.Did you have a guiding principle in terms of what this movie was going to look like?Rønning: Yeah, you go in with storyboards. So that was tricky to maneuver. In the film, Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp, once again) faces down his most fearsome threat yet in the form of Salazar (Javier Bardem), a ghostly captain obsessed with killing pirates. We actually delayed shooting the movie so that we could continue working on the script. But at the same time it was important for us since we were curious about Jack Sparrow. Because he doesn’t really have a character arc, which is tricky, because he goes through the movie and he learns absolutely nothing. That it has all of those things, because we put a lot of effort into it.Would you come back for another installment?Rønning: It’s too early to talk about that.”Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales” is in theaters now. And the reason is I think it reminds us of the movies we grew up with — those kinds of Hollywood adventure family movies that we grew up with when we were kids. I’m so glad that you see that. And in that regard it’s been an amazing adventure and journey for us. And I think it’s that unique mix that we wanted to maintain going into this fifth installment.It definitely seems like you guys wanted to make it scary again, particularly with that opening sequence with Salazar.Espen Sandberg: We wanted it to be like the ride. I think what’s great about that scene and what’s great about Javier’s acting is that it’s both scary and funny at the same time. So to give him a backstory was something that we thought would be really cool. (And check back next week for our discussion with Rønning and Sandberg about the movie’s post-credits tag.)Moviefone: What did “Pirates of the Caribbean” mean to you guys?Joachim Rønning: We’re fans of this franchise. When we shot it we were left to ourselves for half a year in Australia shooting this movie. We love making movies for the movie theater. I think that going into this it was important for us to analyze why we love this franchise so much, why the audience fell in love with this franchise in the first place. In the mythology of the series it was important for us to not step on anything and there are a lot of fans out there who know absolutely everything. It’s been a great collaboration with them. It’s so layered. We wanted to make this personal. We’re fans of “Pirates of the Caribbean” ourselves. And that meant going back to the first film in the series. Literally we were on the same page. And that’s always great, of course.What was the experience like doing your first Hollywood movie?Rønning: The experience was great, is the short answer. We wanted it to be scary, too. Posted May 27, 2017 by Drew TaylorIn many ways “Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales,” the latest (and good) installment in the franchise, feels like both a return-to-form and a wholly new adventure. Of course you hear horror stories about directors making their first big studio movie and we were very lucky. I think we had a very good collaboration with the crew and the actors, with Jerry Bruckheimer and Disney.

Like us on Facebook. Our priority will continue to be raising our children as devoted parents and the closest of friends. Either way, best to the both of them.Want more stuff like this? We kindly ask that the media respect our privacy at this time.”Ben Stiller, 51, and Christine Taylor, 45, were married in May 2000 in Hawaii and have two children, Ella, 15, and Quinlin, 11.They met in 1999 filming the TV pilot “Heat Vision and Jack,” and went on to appear in several movies and TV series together, including the two “Zoolander” movies, “Tropic Thunder,” “Arrested Development,” and “Dodgeball.”According to TMZ, their last public outing as a couple was at a Broadway opening last month in New York.Since they have yet to officially file for divorce, we can hope that this break just shows them they want to give it another try. It has happened before! Posted May 26, 2017 by Gina CarboneGuys, raise an orange mocha frappuccino to one of our favorite Hollywood couples, Ben Stiller and Christine Taylor, who just announced they are splitting up after almost exactly 17 years of marriage.The couple shared a joint statement to Entertainment Tonight:”With tremendous love and respect for each other, and the 18 years we spent together as a couple, we have made the decision to separate.

Like us on Facebook. Thank you for making these! Posted May 26, 2017 by Gina Carbone”Supergirl” star Floriana Lima (Maggie Sawyer) will only return to the show on a recurring basis in Season 3, leaving some fans to wonder what this means for Sanvers.Lima became a series regular in Season 2, and the recent finale ended with Maggie on the receiving end of a proposal from girlfriend Alex Danvers (Chyler Leigh).These make me so happy! Although she’s not available to us as a series regular next season, as she’s looking to pursue other opportunities, we’re happy she’ll be returning for multiple episodes in Season 3.”Some fans aren’t too surprised to hear that Lima is looking for other opportunities, seeing her as “underused” on the show, especially for someone who was considered a series regular.”Supergirl” Season 3 premieres this fall on The CW.Want more stuff like this? As executive producer Andrew Kreisberg said in a statement (via TVLine):”We adore Floriana and have loved working with her to tell this inspiring story. I adore all of you. #supergirl#sanvers#love@chy_leighhttps://t.co/IZShZEBI7o
— Floriana Lima (@florianalima) May 24, 2017Maggie just smiled at the proposal, and now it’s unclear how this will affect the Sanvers relationship, if at all, in Season 3.Apparently it was Lima’s decision to cut back a bit.

Posted May 26, 2017 by Gina CarboneWhatever happens in the finale of “The Leftovers,” it will be definitive. We know Nora actually knows two of them, both named Kevin Garvey, the father and son team played by Scott Glenn and Justin Theroux.Showrunner and co-creator Damon Lindelof — who will never leave “Lost” and its controversial finale behind him — told Variety that everything will be wrapped up in the (hopefully) satisfying finale.”This is it; we left no dangling threads, no to be continued, no spinoff possibilities. Like us on Facebook. We made pretty sure that this was going to be the last season of the show. on HBO.Want more stuff like this? (Then again, ratings.)The final episode, “The Book of Nora” is meant to take us back to that mind-trip of a moment from the end of the premiere, “The Book of Kevin,” when an older-looking Nora Durst (Carrie Coon) called “Sarah” denied she knew anyone named Kevin. I don’t think anyone wants to see a question mark at the end of this.”Nora herself, Carrie Coon, teased a “truthful” finale ahead:”I think in a show like this, you can have a really explosive, shocking ending or you can have something that feels really truthful and I think that’s what we have. This really is The End.When HBO renewed “The Leftovers,” it was for a third and final season, with just two episodes left at this point: Episode 7, “The Most Powerful Man in the World (and His Identical Twin Brother)” on Sunday, May 28, and the finale, “The Book of Nora,” which airs June 4.The show’s fans are incredibly loyal, and can’t really believe the show is ending after just three seasons — and only eight episodes in this finale season — when so many other less gripping shows go on and on. The audience deserves as satisfying an ending as we can give them. I was so proud to be a part of it, and I’m a big part of it.””The Leftovers” airs Sundays at 9 p.m.

Efron and Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson lock lips underwater in “Baywatch,” and The Rock superfan James Corden demanded every single detail of their makeout session.Corden told Efron he was “unbelievably envious,” asking, “What does The Rock taste like?” Efron didn’t really know how to answer, but he tried:”To be completely honest, like, kissing a dude is weird at first, but he tasted kind of like a Winterfresh commercial. It was an awesome kiss, and one off the bucket list for me, for sure.”Corden couldn’t stop interrupting Efron, and eventually added his own wish: “I can safely say, I would give up everything in my life for one open-mouth kiss with The Rock.” Hmmm. Or like cherry ChapStick. He’s good at that, too? Jeez, man.’ He’s just the best at everything. Apparently it’s “awesome,” and has a specific kind of flavor.”Baywatch” star Zac Efron was on “The Late Late Show With James Corden” last night, along with “Pirates of the Caribbean” star Orlando Bloom and “Silicon Valley” star Zach Woods. It was crazy. His wife and kids may not appreciate that, but we all need goals.Watch the clip:Want more stuff like this? Like us on Facebook. Posted May 26, 2017 by Gina CarboneCan you smell how The Rock is kissing? It was like, ‘What?

7 trending video on YouTube, two days later. The trailer is still currently the No. Like us on Facebook. — in the first 24 hours since its debut. As Deadline noted, “That’s believed to be the most distributed views for a TV show trailer ever in a 24-hour period.”
“Game of Thrones” is always setting records for everything, including piracy, although they probably don’t want that one. We’re past 24 hours now, and the number is only going higher. (Where are the reports on which trailers lead to greatest eyesight loss?)According to HBO, the Season 7 trailer that HBO dropped Wednesday was viewed 61 million times across digital platforms — including Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, etc. “We’re actually filming longer now. Season 7 starts in July, and HBO is just now kicking the promotion into high gear. Posted May 26, 2017 by Gina CarboneOne does not simply watch a “Game of Thrones” trailer once. “When I first read this season I thought: ‘Damn, I gotta learn some lines!'” Clarke said. So the figures on the Season 7 trailer may include some of us watching it a dozen or more times, always with our faces about an inch from the screen. I don’t know how that’s happening.” Dinklage added, I’ve worked more days this season than I have in quite some time.”Watch the trailer again:Season 7 arrives July 16 on HBO.Want more stuff like this? There’s no slowing this puppy down.Fans waited a long time for that trailer, and the anticipation surely factored into the viewing. The stars cover the new issue of Entertainment Weekly, sharing more details on the final two seasons — Season 7 with seven episodes, and Season 8 confirmed to have just six.Emilia Clarke (Daenerys Targaryen) and Peter Dinklage (Tyrion Lannister) told EW they were surprised to see how much MORE they had to do in Season 7, despite having three fewer episodes than previous seasons.

Like us on Facebook. Be very happy if him or Pattinson win. — Natalia13586 (@NextStation92) May 25, 2017@NextStation92 That’s such a tough call because they’re two totally different performances. — James Healey (@SwedishLincoln) May 25, 2017@SwedishLincoln adam sandler maybe
— Natalia13586 (@NextStation92) May 25, 2017@NextStation92 Adam Sandler was sooooooo good but I don’t think he’ll win. — James Healey (@SwedishLincoln) May 25, 2017@SwedishLincoln I didn’t see their movies but I heard Adam and Robert were great. — James Healey (@SwedishLincoln) May 25, 2017The 2017 Cannes winners will be announced this weekend. Comedic performances are huge for me so I think I prefer Adam
— James Healey (@SwedishLincoln) May 25, 2017@NextStation92 But I would say Robert is objectively better. In your opinion, who should win? And then we wait, to see if either actor will still be riding the buzz when the Oscars are awarded in early 2018. He’s absolutely great in GOOD TIME
— Tim Robey (@trim_obey) May 25, 2017Because it’s 2017 and everything is bonkers, good money for best actor at #Cannes2017 now on Adam Sandler or Robert Pattinson
— Deborah Cole (@doberah) May 25, 2017Good Time : Robert Pattinson for best actor at #Cannes2017 there’s no competition. #Cannes2017
— AFK Sinemada (@afksinemada) May 25, 2017Feed about to go ballistic, because Robert Pattinson could easily win Best Actor here. But again, both are incredible. Want more stuff like this? Posted May 26, 2017 by Gina CarboneIt’s time to question everything, because two of the least expected actors are earning top buzz at the 2017 Cannes Film Festival.Adam Sandler and Robert Pattinson have wowed fans and critics in their respective films. (Hey, he was pretty good in “Punch-Drunk Love,” too.)Here are some early reactions to both actors having breakthrough moments at this point in their careers:I can’t believe I’m living in a world where both Adam Sandler & Robert Pattinson could potentially be in the Best Actor conversation
— Matt Neglia (@NextBestPicture) May 25, 2017What a time to be alive when the two biggest contenders for Cannes Best Actor are Adam Sandler and Robert Pattinson. The former “Twilight” heartthrob has viewers raving over his leading role in the crime thriller “Good Time,” with Sandler earning awards buzz for the family comedy “The Meyerowitz Stories.”According to USA Today, after Sandler’s film premiered Sunday night at Cannes, “it was met with rapturous reviews and a four-minute standing ovation,” with critics surprised to find themselves considering the comic for an Oscar.

https://t.co/3nirwk4Oj4
— Josh (@fanartexhibit) May 24, 2017Ok, ok. But it’s just a poster. If you’re gonna do floating heads, do it right. look how much more life the Logan movie poster has VS the Spiderman one. A concentrate of bad taste in only one picture : pic.twitter.com/aLtmbisyYz
— Tohad (@sylvainsarrailh) May 24, 2017The latest spiderman poster aint that bad, I kinda did the same thing XD pic.twitter.com/vgW3gLaAvo
— BossLogic (@Bosslogic) May 25, 2017This is a Spiderman poster you would see in Deviantart but with that Devinartart logo at the middle. And then there’s that new poster. Posted May 26, 2017 by Gina CarboneUnderoos deserved a better poster than the one Marvel gave him, so “Spider-Man: Homecoming” fans stepped in to save the day — by pointing out everything wrong with it. — tenpoundpixel (@tenpoundpixel) May 24, 2017New Spiderman poster is horrible. Right?”Spider-Man: Homecoming” opens July 7.Want more stuff like this? That’s a new level of bad
— Andy Peachey (@Andy_peachey) May 24, 2017Could they just get Drew Struzan to do the Spiderman Homecoming poster? Like us on Facebook. Some fans loved it, but many others mocked it as bad fan art, shredding it harder than any supervillain.when you remember that you’re supposed to make the new spiderman poster and start it an hour before it’s due pic.twitter.com/lNyh46eYyz
— chris (@garflyf) May 24, 2017The actual legit Spiderman Homecoming poster looks like a ripoff Bali DVD cover pic.twitter.com/2jFYXYXAIm
— Jess Wheeler (@wheelswordsmith) May 25, 2017I just singlehandedly saved the spiderman poster pic.twitter.com/MDepYWwmHj
— jodds (@MYOWNlMAGE) May 24, 2017Hey Steve, which is the Spiderman poster file you want sent to print, is it SpideyFinal or SpideyRoughLayoutDONOTSEND.psd? pic.twitter.com/fU9va5U34D
— alex (@poedamnrn) May 24, 2017This is way too busy and why so much Iron Man on a Spiderman poster https://t.co/Qdc5J7omfk
— WonderWoman June 2nd (@BlckBolex) May 24, 2017New official Spiderman movie poster… pic.twitter.com/yLk4DIC0Gw
— HappyToast ★ (@IamHappyToast) May 24, 2017i fixed the Spiderman poster pic.twitter.com/0IzwfQQmiv
— WLFGRL (@NotUnclever) May 25, 2017Like… Internet heroes in action!We’re all excited to see Tom Holland’s teen Peter Parker this July, and the “Homecoming” trailers have been fantastic. The movie will still be amazing. pic.twitter.com/Jrv9E1IdXo
— Andrew ★ Stew-Art (@Viruul) May 24, 2017can somebody tell me why the Spiderman: Homecoming poster looks fanmade pic.twitter.com/k2B7s902on
— Dorothy Lydia (@DorothyLydia_) May 24, 2017In light of the garbage new spiderman poster let’s toss some appreciation to DC for their poster game pic.twitter.com/iAYCcj1zcm
— Jared (@jaredsletterbox) May 24, 2017why does the latest spiderman homecoming poster looks like the force awakens poster? pic.twitter.com/m12Pi7uerH
— Cap☆ (@CaptainGalxy) May 24, 2017Not a fan of photoshop movie posters & have been critical of the newer SW films posters but that Spiderman poster.

Watch the clip over at IndieWire.You sacrificing to me? #AmericanGodspic.twitter.com/APsy57G6TD
— Gillian Anderson (@GillianA) April 29, 2017 The actress is channeling David Bowie’s iconic glam character for an upcoming episode of “American Gods.”In the cutting-edge Starz series (based on the book by Neil Gaiman), Anderson plays Media, the mouthpiece and P.R. Series premiere of @AmericanGodsSTZ tomorrow at 9PM est/pst. Wednesday (Ian McShane). rep of the New Gods, who appears as different pop culture icons. Posted May 26, 2017 by Sharon KnolleGillian Anderson makes a stunning Ziggy Stardust. Media (also managing to sound uncannily like Bowie) addresses her fellow God as “Aye, pretty thing, you,” and tells him he has “an image problem” and orders him to apologize to Moon and Mr. 📺💋 #Media#AmericanGodspic.twitter.com/TrhDTHQS7Y
— Gillian Anderson (@GillianA) May 8, 20171 more day! We’ve already seen her as Lucille Ball and she previewed her turn as Marilyn Monroe in a pic shared to Twitter.In this Sunday’s episode, “Lemon Scented You,” Media takes New God Technical Boy (Bruce Langley) to task over his assault on Shadow Moon (Ricky Whittle).

He’s only had a little training on these obstacles. Posted May 26, 2017 by Sharon Knolle”Arrow” star Stephen Amell wowed the crowd last night on a celebrity edition of “American Ninja Warrior.” The actor, who does a lot of his own stunts on the CW superhero series, easily conquered the obstacle course. Fan boys all across America are losing the minds.” Not to mention the fan girls!After triumphantly completing the course, he announced he wanted to do one more, continuing on to an even tougher course to do the Salmon Ladder, a cinch for the star since that’s what TV alter ego Oliver Queen trains on. He ably leaped and swung his way through each challenge, including the tough triple fly-wheel set-up. The fans were screaming and the commentators gushing: “He’s 6’1” and just solid muscle!… This is just natural athletic ability! After going on to one more challenge, he thanked the crowd — and then dropped into the pool.Amell raised $30,000 for Red Nose Day.Also competing last evening for charity: Derek Hough, Mena Suvari and Natalie Morales.

It’s just another way to look at Wonder Woman.” In theaters, June 2!!”Carter told MSN, “Yes, I am the bearer of the torch and I’m passing it forward!” She added (for the benefit of any old-school fans who are dubious about the reboot), “I really want you all to embrace this. Posted May 26, 2017 by Sharon KnolleOriginal Wonder Woman Lynda Carter joined new Amazon warrior Gal Gadot at the “Wonder Woman” premiere at the Pantages Theatre in Hollywood on Thursday and both looked ah-ma-zing.Carter (can you believe she’s now 65?!) played the superhero on TV from 1975-1979. Gal Gadot is fabulous as Wonder Woman. Bravo Patty Jenkins. I had so much fun at the premiere. I know it will be great!” After the movie, she gushed, “What a wonderful movie!! She posted on Facebook before the premiere, saying, “So excited to be attending the premiere of the new ‘Wonder Woman’ movie, directed by my friend, Patty Jenkins, and starring the beautiful Gal Gadot. I can’t wait to see that beloved character on the big screen where she belongs.

She does amazing work in this. “I remember the first day of shooting was a scene with Carrie … I think it ended up being 27 takes of Carrie just leaning in [to slap me] and every time she did a different spot on my face.He remembered the late icon, saying, “She was, by far, one of the quickest-witted, funniest, most down-to-earth, real human beings, I ever had the opportunity of working with. The most memorable moment: When Darth Vader’s helmet is briefly off and we see that he’s just “an old, bald, fat dude.”The actor also mentioned that he tried to keep his “Force Awakens” script after the film was finished, and that Disney lawyers finally had to ask for it back! It was definitely a heartbreaker [to lose her].”He also recalled seeing his first “Star Wars” film at age 4: “Return of the Jedi” (although he’s unclear about what year it came out. And Rian Johnson, the director, kept doing it over and over. It was 1983, Oscar!). Posted May 26, 2017 by Sharon KnolleOscar Isaac had a scene with Carrie Fisher in “Star Wars: The Last Jedi” he’ll never forget — because she slapped him 27 times!Stopping by “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert” last night (which also happened to be the 40th anniversary of “Star Wars”), Isaac shared this anecdote.”A large amount of the stuff I got to do was with Carrie, which was amazing,” Isaac told Colbert. Fortunately, after the film opened, he got a very fancy of the version of the script sent to him, “this leather-bound thing with my name on it.” Nice! I remember it was a scene where I come up and talk with her, and she is very upset with me and slaps me.

Given its tonal schizophrenia, I had to work out which of its two tones would determine its look. I wanted to create a kind of sharp and pronounced tonal schism between that upper executive level and the boots on the ground in order to make that distinction more pronounced. You have to stream it.I got a chance to speak with Michôd about translating actual events for cinematic comedy, whether or not he could have actually made the movie at a traditional studio, and where he got the idea for the last-minute cameo from Russell Crowe.Moviefone: When did you make the decision to eschew a direct adaptation of the material?David Michôd: Michael Hastings’s book came to me at an unusual and serendipitous moment. So I guess where it landed was I wanted to shoot it elegantly and in a muscular way, to not let it have a look. I shot my first two films on film and this was my first proper digital experience, which allowed me to shoot with multiple cameras, which I loved. You know, one of the things that allowed me to go from looking for a movie set in a modern war theater to finding it in Michael’s book was finding the human affirms of it. So long as it’s rooted in something true, in vanity and ambition and hubris. So long as I’ve watched my movies and studied my cinema in my life, I feel like it would be counter to the larger mission to run the risk of making a facsimile of something that had come before. Because I can think endlessly about the cinematic execution of war — the dirt and the dust and the blood and the chaos — but it’s not until you find your very specific human way into the story that an actual movie presents itself. I had already been thinking for quite a while about making a film set in or near Iraq or Afghanistan. It’s an abrasive, pitch-black comedy set during America’s conflict in Afghanistan and might be the most wicked, funniest, and wackiest wartime satire since Stanley Kubrick’s “Dr. And had concentrated most of my thinking on a movie about the brutality of battle. So I needed whoever that last person was to carry the chaos of what’s to come in an instantly recognizable 15 seconds.So you said, “Crowe. They’re future proofing. It’s Netflix’s “War Machine,” directed by Australian auteur David Michôd and starring Brad Pitt, one of the biggest movie stars in the world. It’s complex and it’s politically complicated and it’s tonally mental. I suddenly realized there was a movie there to be made about the entire machine and focusing principally on that strange detachment of the executive level of the military and the brutality of that battlefield.And, at some point, in the process of outlining the movie, I realized that what I wanted to do was not just make a movie about the insanity of war but I wanted to make the movie feel insane. I saw that he cited Kiefer Sutherland’s character from “Monsters vs. It’s one of the rare comedies that isn’t totally over-lit and blown out.This was, in some ways, the most visually challenging movie I’ve made in some ways. Our aim was to play that character as if he were a World War II anachronism walking around in 21st Century military fatigues.In terms of inspiration, did you look at any of those classic screwball comedies?It’s interesting, I tend not to let myself get bogged down in other films. Was that part of the approach, too, opening it up and shrinking it down?I think so. When we made the decision to let this thing play as tonally schizophrenic and to play that upper executive level of the military as screwball comedy, to let the schism be felt in a really pronounced way was to let Brad off the leash. I read that their only real requirement was shooting digitally so they could have a 4K video file.My experience was the same. So we just knew straight away that we could hump our asses around town to the usual places or we could just jump into bed with the new kids in town and go crazy.This movie looks expensive. They’re making films that will live on their platform forever. We could sniff from the outset that this movie was just going to freak the traditional studios out. Working with Darius [Wolski, cinematographer] was great. I like their chutzpah.Do you think you could have gotten away with this movie in a typical studio setting?No. The most glorious cinema experiences that I’ve had are the ones that leave me feeling like I’ve seen something that I’ve never seen before. Aliens” as inspiration.[Laughs] Yeah. And one of Darius’s great skills is he can light a room in the morning to shoot in all directions without too much fussing and tweaking in between set-ups. And I get it. The great aspiration is to make something that feels unusual. The only stipulation I got during the whole process was, You can’t shoot on film, you have to shoot 4K. In Pitt’s hands though, McChrystal, now General Glen McMahon, becomes something heightened and larger-than-life. It would be easy to call his performance (and the rest of the movie) surreal if it didn’t feel so utterly realistic. And from there it became quite simple, to play the generals like a screwball delusional comedy and play the boots on the ground for real.What’s so fascinating about this story is the scope of this movie is so huge, but then it’ll focus on the general and his wife on a date or the soldiers on patrol. the answer was, I don’t know, how big have you got? We liked the idea of going to Netflix and dropping a rock in the pond, so to speak. We never pushed the look too hard. Bring him in”?Yeah.”War Machine” is available to stream on Netflix today. And it couldn’t be made cheaply. So it was very important to me that you get a sense that the events of this movie weren’t some strange aberration, that you were watching a kind of endless conga line of fevered egos following each other into the abyss. You can have three cameras in a dinner scene and pretty much stick them anywhere without having to make too many adjustments to light.Can you talk a little bit about getting Russell Crowe for that cameo at the very end?You know, I changed the names of the characters from the ones in the book because I didn’t want the movie to feel like it was about one guy in particular, one real-life individual. I’m never unaware of the fact that to make any movie is to build on what’s come before. It’s hilarious, odd and moving. Strangelove.” (Yes, it’s really that good.)”War Machine” is based on Michael Hastings’s posthumously published nonfiction book “The Operators,” which itself was based on Hastings’s own Rolling Stone report on the bumbling (and, because of the article, ultimately disgraced) General McChrystal. And, in answer to the question How big are we going here? It’s the war that is perverse and weird not this movie, necessarily. So when Michael’s book came to me, I instantly saw a much bigger and weirder movie. So that was definitely what I found when I read Michael’s book and see these characters and I saw something that was really quite large but in a way it grew out of those very specific intimate moments that you describe.Can you talk about developing the character with Brad? Whether or not I’ve succeeded in that endeavor on this one remains to be seen, but it is always the aspiration.Can you talk about working with Netflix? Posted May 26, 2017 by Drew TaylorThe best movie being released this week (and indeed one of the best movies released so far this year) isn’t coming to your local multiplex. One of the things I like about Netflix is their grand ambition. To me, the movie was about a much larger machine and a system that just keeps turning despite its failure. And the movie, which fluctuates between maddeningly complex and broadly goofy, is a high-wire act that pulls off its death-defying feat marvelously.

Being a woman, being a minority in this country, the trailblazers that have gone before us have opened paths so that we can live a life that we dream about and actually have it come true, whether it’s financial or aspirational, in terms of professional. I still sound like I do, and when I connect with my audience, there’s a connection back.With such a multi-faceted career, are there still a couple of big bucket list items, goal posts, that you’re like, “Yep, I’m going to get to that too! PBS does it like no other.Some of the great songs that we cherish about America are not the easiest to sing. So when I was given the suggestion, I called my dear friend and my musical director to kind of do a contemporary version of the song — he literally left about an hour or so ago. My great-great-grandfather was one of the first colored troops to participate in the Civil War. I’m always up for a challenge and to learn. We were figuring out how we were going to approach it, and I think we came up with something that’s kind of unique, and cool, but also still equally as beautiful.The challenge would be the National Anthem, which I’ve sung at a Super Bowl, and World Series, and U.S. Those are aspects that I work hard to have, but also have them as part of my life.In terms of Memorial Day and the concert, it’s great to be reminded that our legacy, and what we were founded on, is the freedom for us to be American, and to exercise our rights. I did “Bye Bye Birdie” for ABC back in ’95, but I would love to do a movie musical, which would be great.I’m just starting to direct, and I think that’s going to be really interesting, and challenging, and exciting. As much chaos, and disagreement, and tension, and fear that’s going on right now, the bottom line is we are lucky to be in this great country. I have a show in St. That’s going to happen for me”?I’ve performed on “Saturday Night Live” twice, and done one skit, but I would love to host. Posted May 26, 2017 by Scott HuverVanessa Williams wants you to know that even when you’re not seeing her on TV, she’s out there working hard to entertain you.After two highly successful stints on network television (“Ugly Betty,” “Desperate Housewives”) and a steady stream of guest stints (including “The Good Wife” and “The Mindy Project”), Williams is readying for a full-fledged return, headlining the dishy VH1 drama “Daytime Divas,” set in the competitive and ego-driven world of an afternoon talk show in the vein of “The View” (based, appropriately on former “View” host Star Jones’s knowing novel”Satan’s Sisters”).In the meantime, Williams has kept her chart-topping, awards-winning singing voice in peak form, performing both on Broadway and in concert around the country. That would be because I’m a big fan of the show. It starts June 5th. In between that, did a pilot for Fox that didn’t get picked up.I wish it was a few years of rest and relaxation, but it hasn’t! Then we did “Trip to Bountiful” in L.A. So that could be a possibility. I wanted to know your feelings about being an American, and why you wanted to celebrate it by taking part in the National Memorial Day Concert.Vanessa Williams: This is not my first time being a part of this PBS Memorial Day celebration, so I was happy to get the call again. Lucia next weekend. My grandfather was in World War II, my father was in the Army, my uncle was in the Air Force.So I understand the significance and the importance of the military, and I also know what a privilege it is to live in the United States and be an American. If you don’t see me, it doesn’t mean that I’m not working! The fact that we have the freedom of education. We’ve been seeing more and more of you again recently. I think that’s one of the new things that I can tick off on my list.Sounds like you actually are saving some of the best for last.Exactly! Whether it’s a wedding song, whether it’s a prom song, whether they had an issue with their spouse, and this was the song that got them back together.I think the two biggest comments are, a.) I sound like my record, and b.) “You made me cry.” That’s a very big compliment. I’m proud, I’m singing “Let There Be Peace on Earth” this year. But I think that I’m happy for “Daytime Divas” to premiere. So if I’m not on television, I’m performing my concerts on the weekends. Probably the most satisfying part for me is when people sing along, especially “Save the Best for Last,” or “The Sweetest Days,” or “Colors of the Wind” from “Pocahontas.” But also when I see people connect, and they tell me their stories about why these particular songs mean something in their lives. Open, and [the trick] is to make sure that you start comfortably enough where you have somewhere to go and be able to hit the final notes for the end of “The Star-Spangled Banner.” Again, it’s always an honor, no matter what the venue, no matter what the occasion, to be asked to sing our National Anthem.It’s always great to hear you sing, and it’s always great to see you on TV. Yet it’s another talented group of actors, and writers, and let’s hope that it finds an audience.Can you tell me about that joy that you found in performing when you were first starting out, and getting your first opportunities to sing and perform in front of people, and the way you feel about it now?The lucky part for me is, I started in chorus and, obviously, doing musicals. What’s been fun for you to kind of come back and do shows like “Daytime Divas”?I personally don’t think that I’ve been away, because I’ve been working my a** off, always! Tell me your experience in figuring out how to pull off some of the performances of these great, timeless songs that can be challenging for any singer.My particular song, “Let There Be Peace on Earth,” is one that’s not very challenging, and is one of those things that we had to sing in chorus pretty much every year. The possibilities are endless when it comes to this world. I did “Trip to Bountiful” on Broadway with Cicely Tyson, and I did “After Midnight,” which is a musical. Sorry to get in the grand scheme of things, but that’s what really, I think, kind of hits home with me.And of course, my creature comforts of having plumbing that works, having food that’s clean and safe to eat, having a secure neighborhood — which I’m talking about my particular life. They asked me to sing that, and it couldn’t be more appropriate, because of the world knowledge that we have, I think now, with everything online, and viral, and happening instantly, we know when there’s disturbances, and catastrophes happening, minute by minute, and peace is one of those things that you can’t ignore.The fact is that I think people really understand the importance of world peace, so that’ll be my little addition to the PBS show, the Capitol concert, and I’m proud to be there and try to be a voice of unity.Tell me what it’s like to be on that stage in that context, with the people who come out to see you for that particular show.Singing with the Capitol behind you, it’s very elegant, it’s very stately, and it’s got some gravitas. In terms of Memorial Day, personally, we come from a long line of military. But the lucky part of me being a recording artist is when I do my show, I can not only sing all my songs that still hold up and people still sing along, but also dip into the Broadway shows that I’ve done and be able to do a whole different approach, where people who might not have seen the show will get an education on musical theater. I just had a show yesterday. Again, it’s a very elegant evening. So I’m always honored, and we’ve got a full orchestra. We are lucky to have a voice, and lucky to be able to exercise our rights, and when you travel the world, it’s great to come back home.As you think about the things that make you happy and proud to be an American, what things really top the list that are the little intangibles that you appreciate? Then do tribute stuff, where I can sing some of the songs that were inspirational to me while I was growing up.I’ve been lucky to be able to have over 30 years of material and fans that have followed me through my career, that I have a connection with. It’s important that when you get the phone call that you’ve been selected to be a part of an American celebration. and Boston. And before “Daytime Divas” premieres, the former Miss America will hit the airwaves on May 28th as one of the all-star roster of performers for the PBS broadcast of the National Memorial Day Concert at the West Lawn of the Capitol in Washington, D.C., singing a classic of Americana, “Let There Be Peace on Earth.”The singer/actress joined Moviefone for a peek at what she’s got in store for audiences, and why she loves hearing how she made her fans cry.Moviefone: Here we are in an era where a lot of people have their own ideas about what it is to be an American. I have done a movie musical for television.