Like us on Facebook. “Life” star Jake Gyllenhaal has been working the promotion circuit hard this week, and he was just on “Late Night” talking more about his bromance with co-star Ryan Reynolds.Seth Meyers called the two yin and yang, surprised that they got along so well in real life. So they tried again.It did not work. I mean I don’t know him, I’ve never really spoken to him.” Meyers asked if he could get Reynolds on the phone. Posted March 24, 2017 by Gina CarboneSeth Meyers is the only loser in this story, since he missed the whole thing play out. Gyllenhaal quipped, “No. Although, if you watched their classic junket interview, you already knew that.Want more stuff like this? So Gyllenhaal stole Meyers’s desk and chatted with Reynolds while the actor was out pushing his kids in a stroller.That part happens at the 3:10 mark:At least JGyll got to prove he’s friends with Ry-guy! However, when they went to a commercial break, and Meyers went backstage to deal with a microphone issue, Ryan Reynolds actually called back. Gyllenhaal swore he did, and said he’d try again while Meyers did something else. You can just picture Reynolds on the other end, offering a deep sigh and an eyeroll to the heavens. Gyllenhaal said he knew Reynolds in passing beforehand, but didn’t really get to know him until they started shooting. Again.The phone rang and rang. Gyllenhaal said yes, and whipped out his phone in an attempt to FaceTime him.It did not work.The phone just rang and rang with no answer. “He’s just a great dude.” Meyers asked if they’re really friends. Not this guy again.Meyers said Gyllenhaal didn’t really know Ryan Reynolds.

If so, their expressions don’t suggest a romantic start. You may have already heard that “Grey’s Anatomy” Season 13 has an upcoming episode “set entirely on a commercial airliner as a crisis unfolds mid-flight.” TVLine revealed a photo from that April 13 episode, “In the Air Tonight,” directed by Chandra Wilson (Miranda Bailey).As you can see below, Meredith and Nathan Riggs (Martin Henderson) are seated next to each other on the plane, and Mer already looks troubled:TVLine didn’t have any other details, so we don’t know if the crisis is a problem with the plane — like fans could handle another crash after the Season 8 finale took Lexie Grey — or a crisis with one of the passengers, and Grey and Riggs have to step in to help.For all we know, there could be other doctors on that flight with them, although it kinda looks like maybe they are getting away together. Like us on Facebook. Are her eyes red, or are we just reading too much into it? The season finale will be Episode 24, and it’s meant to be dark, dramatic, and intense.Want more stuff like this? They both look a bit alarmed, no? That one is next, and it’s meant to be very emotional. The woman next to them doesn’t seem to be bothered.Meanwhile, Ellen Pompeo played down the idea of Mer-Riggs romance, warning Entertainment Weekly “Don’t get too excited.” She added, “Whether you’re ready or not, you have to make the leap; I don’t know if she’s ready.” Mer hasn’t forgotten you, Derek!”Grey’s” has some intriguing episodes coming up, including Episode 18, “Be Still, My Soul,” directed by Pompeo. This in-flight episode is Episode 20. Posted March 24, 2017 by Gina CarbonePoor Meredith Grey (Ellen Pompeo) has the worst luck with planes. Mer does not look comfortable. Then we have Episode 19, “What’s Inside,” which sounds troubling for Stephanie, at least professionally. Or wary, at least. At some point, Jo’s husband is expected to show up to cause drama.

To be honest, I really wanted to work with Peyton Reed and Paul Rudd and Bobby Cannavale. Woody said he was so sad to see Laura go. It was fun, because in some ways, I feel like Woody and Shelly are very similar, and Wilson and Woody are very, very different. Like, “I kind of want to try and be in like big movies. But she’ll have you know: she wants more.After a long windup primarily as that actress stealing scenes on some of your favorite big- and small-screen comedies, including “13 Going on 30,” “Arrested Development,” “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia,” and “Californication,” Greer’s career blew up even bigger with her dramatic turn in “The Descendants,” followed by a string of blockbuster turns in films including “Jurassic World,” “Tomorrowland,” “Ant-Man,” and “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes” (she reprises her mo-cap role as chimp Cornelia in this summer’s “War for the Planet of the Apes”).And, of course, for the past seven seasons she’s been the voice of kink-minded heiress/receptionist Cheryl Tunt on FX’s animated spy comedy “Archer,” which recently revealed it would end after three more eight-episode seasons.Adding to her always-packed schedule was “Wilson,” a film adaptation of the acclaimed graphic novel by award-winning writer and illustrator Daniel Clowes (“Ghost World,” “Art School Confidential”), who also penned the screenplay, in which she plays a sweet-natured pet-sitter who becomes drawn into the world of a misanthropic, socially maladjusted man who becomes obsessed with his own legacy after the death of his father and the discovery of his long unknown daughter.Greer joined Moviefone for a chat about her continually wide-ranging career — and to concede that she’s still not yet ready to face the news of “Archer’s” impending finale.Moviefone: I was a fan of the graphic novel, and was really pleased to see how you all captured so much of it with the film, but also broadened it out — and you’re a big part of that: you brought that character to life in a way that she wasn’t on the page. Tell me a little bit about looking at that source material, then seeing the script, and kind of figuring out how you were going to bring her alive.Judy Greer: I like to build my characters kind of from the outside in. The sort of general plot is that a man gets fired on the day that he has to speak at his daughter’s career day at school, and like how does he stand in front of her class and deal with that?I know it’s a beautiful script. I hope I made it a beautiful movie, but it’s really funny, and I have an amazing cast. I thought that must have been fun to figure out how to play with Woody, given Wilson’s toxic qualities.Yeah. Wilson has a freedom with her that I think he doesn’t really have with anyone else.What’s funny is, everything sort of happens exactly how it should, I think, in filmmaking. So it was just different, and it really afforded me a lot of opportunities.It was life-changing. It was totally different, and having scenes with Andy Serkis. She’s very easygoing, and I think she’s very good for Wilson, because she just sort of allows Wilson to be Wilson. We’re still trying to find ways to figure out how to make Adam [Reed] write more. It was on a whole other level — the film, not my performance — but just like the scope of the movie, and Alexander Payne, and George [Clooney], and Shay [Woodley]. I don’t want to, like, naysay the big franchise movies, but I find myself more attracted to the people I’m working with, than the scope of the project, if you will.Through it all, you’ve been right there with your team over at “Archer.” And now we know that there is probably an endpoint ahead. He’s just the most giant fan of the franchise, and it was just something that I thought, doing motion capture work would be a whole different acting experience. Why?”You do have a couple of choice franchise films to your credit, and presumably, we’ll see you in another “Ant-Man” movie, and definitely in another “Apes” movie. Paul Rudd is a genius. I would have to say that, besides the work I did on the script that I do, I’m really influenced by like, in this movie specifically, being in Minneapolis, and by how she dressed, and what her house looked like, and the people she was around.I found, like, a softness. Obviously, you all love working on the show. Bobby is a genius. He loved working with her so much, and it was just like hard for him that she was finishing. I remember having a conversation with my agent about it. I don’t like it.All good things must come to an end, and Adam writes every episode. I swear, I hope so. He can’t stand to see Pippi go, but then there’s like, here’s this other nice person that can maybe be helpful to me. It’s just such a good thing on so many levels, and it’s made me so happy. I feel like Shelly’s a really grounding force in Wilson’s life, but I think Shelly herself is a very airy person. I wish I could say that, by the way! I just really wanted to work with them. I’m always trying to stretch myself and better myself. Then he said then I showed up, and then we started having a lot of fun together.And it was a really sweet thing to say, because I think that kind of happens in the movie, too. Tell me what got you excited about playing in both of those worlds, the Marvel world, and the “Planet of the Apes” world, and keeping in them hopefully going forward.I wanted to see what it was like on the other side, and do like a big giant franchise movie. I think I was seen as a comedic actress, and then even though I had done dramatic roles in the past, that one was just different. It was, for me, my dream to work with Alexander Payne. How can I find people to inspire me, and how do I make it so I can work with them?Now that there’s so much television, there’s so many more opportunities all the time, but in a way that there wasn’t before, when you just had your networks and your cable shows. Andy Serkis and Woody Harrelson, two of the greatest actors out there — I got to work with both of them!It was just a huge couple years for me. She doesn’t really … Posted March 24, 2017 by Scott HuverFilm and television actress, motion capture performer, voice actress — it certainly seems like Judy Greer’s doing it all. He must be exhausted from it. I was like, “Well that’s it. I think they are true lovers, but I don’t know that I think they should be together, which is what I find heartbreaking and beautiful about the movie, and that they’ll just have to kind of love each other forever, but separately.I like how, in the graphic novel, it’s sort of like when Shelley gets involved with Wilson we’re feeling, “Oh please, no, no, no …” But in this, she brings a sort of redemptive quality to who he could be going forward. I don’t know. Can we try that?” Then it was, like, insane, and then I got “Jurassic World,” and “Ant-Man,” and “Planet of the Apes, and I was like, “Whoa, OK, cool.”I wanted to be in a Marvel movie because it’s a whole thing. I was too. I think it’s such a great show, and it’s so smart — so consistently smart and funny that I shudder thinking that it’s going to be over.Maybe we can get some “Archer” movies out of Adam. Yeah, those were kind of the reasons I wanted to do them. I don’t. So it was very serendipitous of a shooting schedule.There was a period where we’d see you in so many different kinds of movies, and then “The Descendants” felt like a really big moment that kind of helped you, maybe, have even more choices. The best is that it’s a big old Marvel movie, and I was really happy to see Paul Rudd playing a superhero, because he is a superhero.Then with “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes,” that is like a movie that my husband was obsessed with me being in. That’s next. I don’t think there will be. It could have been “Ant-Man,” or it could have been anything else, I would have wanted to be in that movie. I’ve done what I wanted to do. I didn’t even know what I needed to do after that. It’s an independent movie, so we don’t have distribution yet. Why can’t I just be satisfied? I’m curious about what else is out there and how can I stretch myself? I would be curious to hear what Woody would say about that. It was really great. I like to know what I’m wearing, and what I look like, and where I am. Laura Dern’s last day of work was the day before my first day of work. “The Break-Up” is one of my favorite movies. “The Descendants” kind of was a game-changer for me in the way that mostly the people who give me jobs see me. I think, in general, I have high expectations. I really hope so.Lastly, tell me about your plans to expand right now beyond acting.I directed a movie that is almost finished. It was an incredible experience, and I kind of got bit by the directing bug, and now it’s like all I want to do all the time.It’s called “A Happening of Monumental Proportions.” It follows several people through their day and their life in Los Angeles. So I don’t know. It’s a comedy. I’ve been a huge fan of the franchise. I feel very hopeful about the future, but no, I’m not ready to say like, ‘This is great, and I’m happy.” Who would ever say that? Tell me your feelings when you learned, OK, there is going to be a definitive full stop at some point soon.We’re in denial. I just was inspired by sort of the smallness of the story, and I really like movies about people just trying to make it through their day, and people who are just real people. I’m intrigued with what’s next. How are you feeling about your ability to choose what you want to do, the roles that come your way, and just your overall career path and vision right now?I always want more. I don’t know — it’s too upsetting to really think about, so we don’t. I feel like I do have some opportunity to pick and choose a little bit.I always see things, I watch things, and I’m like, “Oh, I’d love to do something like that,” or “I’d love to do something like this.” So I don’t know; I’m never totally ready to say, “Yeah, this is it, this is what I wanted,” because I think that would be weird, too, if you’re an artist, to like limit yourself in that way. not take any sh*t from him, but she doesn’t allow him to drive her crazy, which is why I think he does really well with her, and I think he kind of grows up a little bit with her too.I think Wilson and Pippi are like just the best couple ever. So everything else now is total gravy.” But I’ve been really happy with the roles and the auditions that have come my way. It’s a comedy about loss, and trying to make it through your day. I’m always lamenting to my husband, where I’m like, “I wish I didn’t want more.

Posted March 24, 2017 by Kelly WooAt the end of the day, Peter Parker is just a teenage kid who wants to kick back, put on his headphones, and make the world disappear. Peter tries to fall back into his normal daily routine – distracted by thoughts of proving himself to be more than just your friendly neighborhood Spider-Man – but when the Vulture (Michael Keaton) emerges as a new villain, everything that Peter holds most important will be threatened.”Spider-Man: Homecoming” opens in theaters July 7.Want more stuff like this? Even if he is also Spider-Man.Sony and Marvel released two new posters for “Spider-Man: Homecoming.” The first shows Peter (Tom Holland) relaxing across the river from the New York City skyline, with the Avengers tower prominent in the background. He’s wearing his school jacket and headphones and seems very chill:The second poster is more typically Spider-Man, as he clings to the “A” on the side of the Avengers Tower logo:Here’s the official synopsis of the movie: A young Peter Parker/Spider-Man (Tom Holland), who made his sensational debut in Captain America: Civil War, begins to navigate his newfound identity as the web-slinging super hero in Spider-Man: Homecoming. Thrilled by his experience with the Avengers, Peter returns home, where he lives with his Aunt May (Marisa Tomei), under the watchful eye of his new mentor Tony Stark (Robert Downey, Jr.). Like us on Facebook.

Well, if it’s “not true” that Cersei has no other suitors, who might that be? He’s been groomed since he was 15 that, whatever his life is, it starts and ends with Cersei.””Game of Thrones” season 7 premieres July 16.Want more stuff like this? Well, that’s not true … Even if he was troubled by her deadly actions in the finale, “For Jaime, there is no other way. Posted March 24, 2017 by Kelly WooThe stars of “Game of Thrones” are all very tight-lipped when it comes to saying anything about the upcoming seventh season, but hey, they’re only human — sometimes, they let something slip.In an interview with the Daily Beast, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau doled out a teeny, tiny bit of a spoiler while discussing his character, Jaime Lannister, and his incestuous relationship with sister Cersei.”He loves his sister unconditionally,” Coster-Waldau noted, adding, “Plus, there are no other suitors. Fans have already started speculating that Euron Greyjoy might propose an alliance with Cersei, with an aim to combine forces against the approaching Daenerys Targaryen and Euron’s rebellious niece and nephew.But even if Euron is in the picture, Jaime and Cersei are, have been, and will always be inseparable. Wow, I was about to reveal something from Season 7 and thought, ‘What am I doing?'”So what was he about to reveal? Like us on Facebook. but he has to step up and take his father’s place.

The finale script did lead co-star Andrew Lincoln to do one of his patented jigs, so maybe Rick does channel William Wallace. But star Norman Reedus also says this season’s finale will be “completely different” from previous ones.”It has similar elements, but it’s completely different,” he told Entertainment Weekly. Like us on Facebook. Perhaps! Posted March 24, 2017 by Kelly Woo”The Walking Dead” likes to end its seasons with a splash, and when season 7 concludes April 2, fans can expect to be wowed, shocked, and thrilled. “I did the same thing when I read that one,” he admitted. “And you know, there might be a little William Wallace in it.”So does that mean we can expect an epic battle a la “Braveheart”? “The Walking Dead” airs Sundays at 9 p.m. on AMC.Want more stuff like this? Even Reedus got into the dancing mood. With a rousing speech from Rick to rally the factions that are going up against Negan and the Saviours?

We pretty much already know what Ego’s personality is like.”He’s a lot like Kurt Russell,” Gunn revealed. “He has a great adventurous spirit that he shares with his son.” Duh.5. We get to see Kurt Russell in his full glory expressing himself.”Can’t. 2″ in an attempt to get as much information as we possibly could about the upcoming Marvel sequel — especially details on who Kurt Russell was playing.We’ve all had our suspicions since the casting was announced, and while Marvel couldn’t tell us everything, they told us enough to get us excited about buying our tickets now. “He’s a very interesting guy, and I think he’s a very thoughtful guy and a very gregarious guy. Here’s what we learned:1. So expect Peter’s dad to be on a quest of his own by the time we meet him in the movie. Whether or not he first meets his son in human or planet form remains to be seen.4. Russell is playing Ego the Living Planet, Star-Lord’s father.And when Peter Quill (Chris Pratt) meets his dad, it is going to have a huge impact on our hero.”We can all understand how you’d want to meet your dad, if you didn’t know who your dad was,” Russell said. Peter isn’t the only one searching for a father-son reunion.”I’m looking for Peter,” Russell answered when asked where his character is when we first meet him. His name isn’t J’son, and James Gunn never lied to you.”There is no J’son in the MCU,” writer-director Gunn told us. “He’s probably used about every weapon you can conceive.”6. 2″ hits theaters May 5th. Wait.”Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. You’re (probably) going to love this guy.”He’s no letdown,” Russell said. “That’s just [the name] we’re using for now, but he isn’t named J’son in the movie.”2. “You’ve heard these things about your father, and you’ve been told certain things by your mother, and now you’re trying to put the picture together. Posted March 24, 2017 by Rachel HornerLast year, Moviefone and a group of reporters head to Atlanta to visit the set of “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. When it comes to parents that are missing, we have a tendency to put them on a pedestal, and Peter is living in that world.”Russell went on to say about Ego and Peter’s first face-to-face: “To finally have that opportunity to meet that person, and then begin to compare who they had in mind to what they’re really getting, is a lot of what we’re doing [in this movie].”3. Advance tickets available today. He’s ready to kick all the a**.”He’s a fighter,” Russell told us.

We also got a tease for The Flash (Ezra Miller), with a longer trailer also dropping tomorrow.And here’s the Flash character poster:Faster United #JusticeLeague#TheFlash#UniteTheLeaguepic.twitter.com/mqBeXSElu2
— Justice League Movie (@justiceleaguewb) March 23, 2017″Justice League” opens November 17. Posted March 24, 2017 by Sharon KnolleA Wonder Woman character trailer for “Justice League” debuts tomorrow, but a short teaser was posted today to the movie’s Twitter account.In the teaser, we see Gal Gadot as Diana Prince with a Grecian statue, striding purposefully in high-heeled boots, and in full costume as Wonder Woman raising her shield for battle.Wiser United #JusticeLeague#WonderWoman#UniteTheLeaguepic.twitter.com/fPOgXGKbov
— Justice League Movie (@justiceleaguewb) March 24, 201Gadot also tweeted out the official Wonder Woman poster with the phrase “Wiser United.”Wiser United #JusticeLeague#WonderWoman#UniteTheLeaguepic.twitter.com/EwmgJP5g0A
— Gal Gadot (@GalGadot) March 24, 2017Yesterday, director Zack Snyder shared the movie’s official poster and character posters for Batman (Ben Affleck) and Aquaman (Jason Momoa). You won’t have to wait nearly as long for “Wonder Woman” — it opens June 2.

“She can star in anything. I think she has the world in the palm of her hand.”Watson famously turned down another singing role in “La La Land,” which won a Best Actress Oscar for Emma Stone, to star in the Disney remake.According to The Daily Mail, Watson’s net worth is reportedly $70 million, mostly earned from the “Harry Potter” films. She could produce. I’m sure she has Hollywood banging at her door. That’s a lot of bling for the “Bling Ring” star. There’s no better position to be in right now. She’s America’s sweetheart and a global sweetheart. Posted March 24, 2017 by Sharon KnolleThe live-action “Beauty and the Beast” has so far grossed more than $750 million worldwide and part of that enormous chunk of cash will go to Emma Watson.Watson was paid only $2 million to star as Belle, but thanks to a sweet back-end deal, the 26-year-old could rake in more than $15 million, according to THR.That ranks her above Jennifer Lawrence, who’s held the top position since 2015 when she was paid $15 million for the final “Hunger Games” movie, according to The Daily Beast.Watson previously held the “highest paid actress” title in 2010, thanks to “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1,” and was ranked 14th overall that year.”She is the biggest star in the world right now,” Liza Anderson, celebrity publicist and founder of Anderson Group Public Relations told the London Evening Standard.

It centers on the members of a colony ship who arrive on what they think is an uncharted paradise. The image comes right out of our worst nightmares. It shows what is basically a pit of despair, full of terrifying and strange lifeforms, wrapped around helpless bodies.The Alien Anthology Twitter account’s accompanying caption echoed a line from the trailer and said all that needed to be said: “The path to paradise begins in hell.”Creepy, right?The storyline promises to be equally terror-inducing. Posted March 23, 2017 by Stephanie Topacio LongThe creepy creatures are out again.20th Century Fox revealed the latest “Alien: Covenant” poster on Thursday, and not surprisingly, it’s more than a little disturbing. Instead, they find more of a hell, complete with a hostile alien lifeform. The Ridley Scott-directed film stars Michael Fassbender, Katherine Waterston, Danny McBride, and Billy Crudup, among others.”Alien: Covenant” hits theaters on May 19.[via: Alien: Covenant/Twitter]

Bringing the topic around to the young Han Solo movie, he revealed a rare piece of information about the story. Naturally, there was a lot he had to cover — from the sad subject of Carrie Fisher’s death to the much more pleasant topic of the film universe’s future.Addressing Fisher’s December death, the exec made it clear that there will be no CGI version of the longtime star in “Episode VIII – The Last Jedi” — only scenes she actually filmed prior.”We had to deal with tragedy at the end of 2016,” he said. It turns out the film will follow the beloved smuggler from ages 18 to 24 as he (played by Alden Ehrenreich) and Chewbacca (Joonas Suotamo) travel around on the Millennium Falcon.What a time to be a Star Wars fan.[via: THR] Posted March 23, 2017 by Stephanie Topacio LongThe Star Wars universe is busier than ever, and it looks like it will stay that way.Disney CEO Bob Iger gave fans some insight into the franchise’s future during a talk in Santa Monica Thursday, as THR reports. Yet while he apparently isn’t ready to publicize that yet, he did share that Disney is going beyond the three films the studio originally planned on making when it bought Lucasfilm.”We’re starting talk about what could happen after ‘Episode IX.’ About what could be another decade-and-a-half of Star Wars stories,” he said.Oh, yes, you read that right — another decade-and-a-half. Between all of these new sequels and spinoff projects, it’s hard to say who is more excited about the franchise at this point: the studio or Star Wars’ die-hard fans.Iger also discussed one specific spinoff. “Carrie appears throughout ‘VIII.’ We are not changing ‘VIII’ to deal with her passing. Her performance remains as it is in ‘VIII.'”He acknowledged that some digital character was used in “Rogue One,” but he made it clear that Fisher won’t be brought back that way.”We are not doing that with Carrie,” he said.Take a moment if you need to.Unfortunately, Iger didn’t satisfy our curiosity regarding how they’ll deal with her loss.

Posted March 23, 2017 by Stephanie Topacio LongDivided as politics have become, at least we haven’t reached the chilling extremes shown in “The Handmaid’s Tale” — and hopefully never will.Hulu released the official trailer for the upcoming series on Thursday, and the world it introduces us to is, in a word, a nightmare. The only thing that seems to be keeping her going is her desire to find her daughter, who was literally ripped out of her arms.Dire as it all is, the story is fascinating. An adaptation of Margaret Atwood’s 1985 novel of the same name, it takes place in a totalitarian society where most women the remaining fertile women are expected to serve and bear the children of high-ranking couples. Offred goes from having control over her own life to being forced to serve this man and his wife, facing violence and cruelty along the way. Watch the trailer below and see for yourself.”The Handmaid’s Tale” premieres April 26 on Hulu. Our protagonist, Offred (Elisabeth Moss) is one of these so-called Handmaids.As we can see in the preview, it’s a horrible situation.

And then Daniel and the visual effects guys and the creature design guys brought it to life in a way that far exceeded even our expectations.Was there ever a point where you guys said, “Screw it, let’s give him a face”?Reese: There was, at some point, because you’re so used to seeing faces. The level and attention to detail was incredible and really awesome. We’ve been afforded so many gifts on this movie, with the ability to do stuff we couldn’t have done even five years ago at the price point that we wanted to do it. We’re always left-of-center and it felt left-of-center to us. There were some on “Deadpool” we didn’t know about either. And this was the attempt to do that. It brings a smile to our face.Let’s talk about “Deadpool 2.” The first film was such a surprise for so many people. I think sequels should have the familiar and the new in them. And not just the creature but the technology of the weightlessness and how that all visualized itself on screen and visual effects and wirework it’s just … There’s such detail, and I don’t know if you know this, but it was shot on two soundstages at Shepperton in London, and they built basically the entire space station. The screenwriters, who have penned wise-ass classics like “Zombieland” and “Deadpool,” take a surprisingly straightforward approach with “Life.” This is a singularly scary movie. We could have shot this on the space station. Deep down inside I always wanted to write something that was really scary. You know, “Alien” was definitely a huge inspiration of ours. It was a technological and artistic thing of beauty.[Director] Daniel Espinosasaid the film is loaded with references to other movies.Reese: I’m not sure what he’s talking about.Wernick: He might have put in some definite Easter eggs. For us it was making the thing as current and relevant and up to date as we could.It also has such an international feel, which is really great in today’s climate, with all of these countries working together. But studios do love franchises so that set up the potential should the movie succeed, we’d love to make another one on Earth. That was part of the realism factor, with these astronauts putting aside their country’s differences to come together on that space station to do work together.Have you guys thought about a sequel to “Life”? So a cell that could be an eye cell and a muscle cell and a nerve cell all at once. And they had to build it in such a way that it had to be open air so the wires could move above it. We meet people all the time and the second you mention “Deadpool” they just light up. It’s pretty astonishing. It will always have a scrappy, underdog feel to it.”Life” comes to our galaxy tomorrow. Because it was a passion of ours, it remains a passion of ours. Was that something that you guys were cognizant of?Reese: Yes, and that’s the way the space station is, with astronauts from different countries aboard it. Had you always wanted to do a straightforward sci-fi horror movie?Rhett Reese: Absolutely. How do you do that again?Reese: I think we’ll find some more rules to break hopefully. So we’re playing to his strengths and we feel like audiences are going to be blown away.Reese: He also really gets the tone and the character. He came in and just got it.So is it going to have more action?Reese: I think it’ll be a little bigger, just by virtue of it being a sequel and wanting to top ourselves. It really is. Everyone likes to throw stuff in there. The ending is terrific and definitely leaves the possibility for another film open.Reese: Well, the sequel is going to be “Venom.” [Laughs] We would love a sequel but it depends on whether or not people buy tickets.Wernick: We always felt that an unconventional ending to a big tentpole movie would be cool, to us at least. And the fact that it extended all over age ranges, including kids as young as 10, which I cringe at, all the way to grandparents, to hit all four quadrants in a movie that could have, if it had gone wrong, was astonishing to us and really gratifying. His mind works in ways that others don’t in terms of visualizing the action. We didn’t want to get into the divisiveness between nations or the divisiveness between characters in the sense that one character wants to bring the sample back to Earth to turn it into a weapon or something like that. It shows on screen. When I was younger, I wouldn’t even get to see them, but I’d see the commercials and they would absolutely terrify me. But we’re not going to be lifting cities into the air or having alien invasions.Wernick: We’re saving that for the third one.Reese: The first film was an underdog movie, and we don’t want to feel like “The Avengers” — that big and bloated and huge. It’s a great movie, and almost 40 years ago it came out. So it’s all about striking that balance.How did you guys feel about the movie hitting the way that it did? There’s that line in “Zombieland,” when Woody Harrelson is gushing at Bill Murray and Bill says, “Well that’s why we do it.” That’s what we say about “Deadpool.” It’s really fun.Was it also fun introducing that character to the world?Wernick: Well, there was always the fear that “Deadpool” was a one-quadrant movie. So we have similar elements, the tone will be the same, but the story is very different — it’ll have more characters, different characters, Deadpool is going to go on a new emotional journey so we want to keep it emotional. I think that’s why it took six years to get made. But everybody felt that to anthropomorphize it too much would be a mistake. It doesn’t look as much like the average creature on Earth, let’s say.What was it like seeing the set for the first time?Wernick: It was amazing. Because it really is based on the idea that it’s all these interconnected cells that perform the bodily functions of all the differentiated tasks of a human body. Prepare to clutch your significant other’s hand until you hear bones break.I got a chance to chat with them ahead of the film’s world premiere at the SXSW Film Festival, and we talked about the inspiration for the movie, what it was like seeing their visions come to life (not only Calvin but the entire space station), the possibility of a sequel, and what’s going on with “Deadpool 2.”Moviefone: What’s interesting about this movie, especially coming from you guys, is how straightforward it is. And as for Calvin, he’s a creature that we did extensive research on going into this. And to see that passion come across on screen and relay that to audiences is amazing and awesome for us.Can you talk about working with new director David Leitch and what he brings?Wernick: He’s the best. Because we’ve certainly reached big audiences but never a massive international audience like that, and the passion people had with it was so intense. We were just in the production offices and saw the pre-viz on one of the action scenes that we’d written and it elevated it in such a way that’s jaw-dropping. They shouldn’t feel too similar to the previous movie otherwise people will get bored but I think they should also carryover in terms of tone and character so that people will still see what they know and love in the new movie. Because if you had been writing this 30 years ago there would have been no way to visualize something like this creature.Paul Wernick: Absolutely. He’s one of the seven main characters and the primary villain in the piece. The level of detail on everything, there was Russian on buttons that you’d never actually see on screen. Reese: It was probably the most gratifying moment of our careers. I grew up with a very active imagination, and movies like “Alien” and “The Shining” absolutely terrified me. We wanted a diverse but united crew that did their jobs well and had each other’s back. That, for us, is why we do it. I’m sure there’s a bunch of stuff in this one. There was no learning curve. It was certainly not going for the same things we normally go for, so we got to flex a different writing muscle.Technology seems to have freed you up, too. Posted March 23, 2017 by Drew TaylorThis week’s terrifying sci-fi odyssey “Life,” which stars Jake Gyllenhaal, Ryan Reynolds, and Rebecca Ferguson as crewmembers aboard a doomed international space station that comes in contact with a very nasty Martian (they nickname the squid-like beast “Calvin”), began, like the monster, as a simple, single-celled idea in the minds of writers Rhett Reese and Paul Wernick. We visualized him in a way that we tapped into research we did on the deep-sea world with these translucent sea creatures and the octopus was a great inspiration of ours. We had fun.

We’re expecting Jo’s husband to enter the picture at some point, so maybe he’s involved?TVLine previously revealed a casting notice for “a Caucasian actor in his mid 40s to play a new doctor who is ‘appealing, charismatic and charming'” but “has a ‘manipulative, scary dark side.'” He’s meant to appear in this season’s final four episodes and could return in Season 14. It’s pretty dark and very good. During the “Grey’s” PaleyFest panel, Debbie Allen had teased that “The end of this season is hot,” but “hot” could mean any number of things.What do you think McKidd meant by the finale leading toward something pretty intense? However, it still sounds like we should worry:”It’s pretty dramatic and pretty intense. on ABC.Want more stuff like this? That left fans thinking it was Jo’s husband, so we should prepare for him to be a part of the Jolex drama fairly soon.After the March 23 Episode 17 we have Episode 18, “Be Still, My Soul,” directed by Ellen Pompeo. That seems to be centered around Maggie and her mother. Posted March 23, 2017 by Gina CarboneThe “Grey’s Anatomy” Season 13 finale will be “a big episode” that leads “toward something pretty intense.”Kevin McKidd (Owen Hunt) teased as much to TVLine during PaleyFest, adding that this finale won’t be centered around a big catastrophic event. The Meredith and Riggs photo shown at top is from ABC’s promo materials for that week, so expect to see more of their personal (and professional?) drama in the coming weeks.”Grey’s Anatomy” airs Thursdays at 8 p.m. Episode 19, “What’s Inside,” sounds fairly ominous with this synopsis: “When Maggie takes on a big case, many of the doctors are worried she’s not the right one for the job while Stephanie makes a mistake, treating one of Grey Sloan’s own.” We already have the spoiler that Stephanie actress Jerrika Hinton booked an HBO show, and won’t be a regular in Season 14, so this might be connected to her exit.We’ll see Episode 19 on April 6. Episode 17 airs tonight (Thursday, March 23) so we still have several weeks to get through before the Episode 24 season finale. Like us on Facebook. Debbie [Allen]’s going to direct it, and it’s going to be amazing.”Sounds like he’s basing that on the script, but they haven’t shot it yet.

pic.twitter.com/uCIKd4sIoq
— ム (@SindarMomoa) March 23, 2017@ZackSnyderpic.twitter.com/14LD4ciImB
— 🤓 (@socio_pathhh) March 23, 2017@ZackSnyderpic.twitter.com/N9jPpcxLQS
— Steven (@IAMACT0R) March 23, 2017Do you think he timed the release of the poster in line with Brett Ratner’s comments on Rotten Tomatoes, in defense of “BvS”? “Justice League” will add Aquaman (Jason Momoa), Cyborg (Ray Fisher), and The Flash (Era Miller).Snyder decided today was the day to give fans the official poster, so here it is:Here’s the official Justice League poster… let the countdown begin. #UniteTheLeague#JusticeLeaguepic.twitter.com/f0p5pu1MX8
— Zack Snyder (@ZackSnyder) March 23, 2017Snyder has some very loyal fans, and they reacted to the poster in their usual fashion:@ZackSnyder i love you!!!11!! Posted March 23, 2017 by Gina Carbone”Justice League” director Zack Snyder is calling on fans to unite, and start counting the days to the DC movie’s premiere on November 17.Snyder directed “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice,” which brought back Henry Cavill’s “Man of Steel” Superman, and introduced Ben Affleck’s Batman and Gal Gadot’s Wonder Woman. Maybe.Before we get to “Justice League,” DC and Warner Bros. will give fans Diana Prince’s “Wonder Woman” origin story, which opens June 2.Want more stuff like this? Like us on Facebook.

Now it’s about a number. It suggests fans saw the movie anyway.Ratner, who is not exactly objective on the subject of BvS since his company had a financial investment in it, continued:”People don’t realize what goes into making a movie like that. The $873 million worldwide gross for “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice” would suggest fans don’t really care — they’ll see what THEY want to see, critics be damned. It’s really sad.”What’s sad is anyone speaking for Middle America, especially when plenty of people did see “BvS” and other movies/shows that have gotten low scores — including “Iron Fist,” which many viewers defended from critical attacks. Like us on Facebook. I think it’s the destruction of our business. I have such respect and admiration for film criticism. negatives. And fans do know that. Sometimes low ratings just leave fans with low expectations, leaving them pleasantly surprised. What’s sad is film criticism has disappeared. In Middle America it’s, ‘Oh, it’s a low Rotten Tomatoes score so I’m not going to go see it because it must suck.’ But that number is an aggregate and one that nobody can figure out exactly what it means, and it’s not always correct. And there was intellect that went into that. But producer/director Brett Ratner, who helped finance “BvS,” lashed out at the Tomatometer aggregate score as “the destruction of our business.”Here’s part of Ratner’s speech at the Sun Valley Film Festival (via Entertainment Weekly):”The worst thing that we have in today’s movie culture is Rotten Tomatoes. The Tomatometer score, which is the percentage of positive reviews published by professional critics, has become a useful decision-making tool for fans, but we believe it’s just a starting point for them to begin discussing, debating and sharing their own opinions.”It’s not like there’s just one guy out there raising or lowering his thumb, it’s a collection of reviews. It’s just insane, it’s hurting the business, it’s getting people to not see a movie. And you would read Pauline’s Kael’s reviews, or some others, and that doesn’t exist anymore. How could it put a cloud over the movie if it was incredibly successful, despite having just a 27 percent rating on RT? And there are plenty of movies out there with high Rotten Tomatoes scores that fans didn’t bother to see. A compounded number of how many positives vs. When I was growing up film criticism was a real art. I’ve seen some great movies with really abysmal Rotten Tomatoes scores. If “BvS” had been better liked (and a better movie in general) you probably wouldn’t hear Ratner complaining at all.Want more stuff like this? Don’t act like viewers are just sheep who buy tickets to whatever the critics tell them to see.EW asked Rotten Tomatoes for a response to the “Rush Hour” director’s comments, and Jeff Voris gave them a statement:”At Rotten Tomatoes, we completely agree that film criticism is valuable and important, and we’re making it easier than it has ever been for fans to access potentially hundreds of professional reviews for a given film or TV show in one place. Now it’s about, ‘What’s your Rotten Tomatoes score?’ And that’s sad, because the Rotten Tomatoes score was so low on ‘Batman v Superman’ I think it put a cloud over a movie that was incredibly successful.”But isn’t that contradictory? It’s mind-blowing. Posted March 23, 2017 by Gina CarboneDoes a rotten or fresh score on Rotten Tomatoes affect whether you see a movie or not?

It was completely unexpected. Date him instead, Rachel.According to Reality Steve, this is for Episode 3, so keep that in mind. “The Bachelorette” Season 13 premieres Monday, May 22, at 9 p.m. I know this sounds cliche, but it totally swept me off my feet. “The Bachelorette” is now filming, to premiere May 22 on ABC, and one of the stops on Rachel’s “journey” was “The Ellen DeGeneres Show.” She brought six guys there on a group date, and shared a few early details on her season.Fans can watch that episode today (Thursday, March 23) on “Ellen,” and see an awkward or sexy (depending on your POV) clip in the video below.Rachel told Ellen she already kissed a guy by that point, and he sounds like a serious frontrunner: “He initiated. ET on ABC.[via: Us Weekly]Want more stuff like this? It was good, it was good.” Rachel didn’t name the guy, but a dude named Brian from Miami decided to pipe in that “She’s a great kisser.” One of the other six guys there agreed, and Brian quipped, “He got my sloppy seconds.”Anyone who says “sloppy seconds” needs to go.Rachel said she hadn’t seen any of the guys shirtless yet, so Ellen fixed that by having the six take off their shirts and do lap dances for the screaming audience members, who shoved money down their pants:Check out the expression on the male audience member’s face, at the bottom of this pic:That poor guy. Posted March 23, 2017 by Gina CarboneAre these guys dating Rachel Lindsay or the “Ellen” audience? Like us on Facebook.

Something Culpepper did. Or not. Hit us up with a tease on what to expect next week. #Survivor#SurvivorGameChangers
— Aman (@AmanAdwin) March 23, 2017The Live Know It Alls audience reacts to the Red Wedding. Posted March 23, 2017 by Gina CarboneIn 34 seasons of “Survivor,” there had never been anything like what happened during last night’s insane supersized tribal council on “Survivor: Game Changers.”Here’s a live look at Episode 4, “The Tables Have Turned”:Not only did two tribes go to tribal council together to vote out one player, it was the first time the pre-vote council talk turned into a deadly dinner party, with guests walking over to whisper to each other, huddle in groups, and return to share what they were told. Things explode in a way we haven’t seen in a while and it’s so good you’ll want to watch it more than once.Well, we’ll be watching and analyzing this week’s episode more than once just to try to figure out what happened, so no shock that next week’s will be a repeat offender, too.Malcolm is now doing his post-boot press, so check out this interview to get some sense of what happened.Want more stuff like this? But I want to deliver a tease so let me say this… Oh, I really don’t want to spoil it in any way. “Survivor: Game Changers” is just getting started, and the promo for next week showed Debbie LOSING IT over whatever. #WOWpic.twitter.com/Eo6EEimqaT
— Malcolm McDaniel (@1mmcdaniel) March 23, 2017And there’s more to come! It’s Debbie.Here’s Jeff Probst’s tease to Entertainment Weekly:Okay, sir. #Survivorpic.twitter.com/TcYyfjG9n7
— Josh Wigler (@roundhoward) March 23, 2017My thought process during the end of tonight’s unbelievably chaotic #TribalCouncil on @survivorcbs. Or, as the players wrote it last night, “Malcom” or “Malcolmb.”Fans loved the electric drama, but most were unhappy with the result — blaming JT for telling Culpepper the plan to write down Sierra, or everyone for not just writing “Sandra” already. Like us on Facebook. #Survivor#SurvivorGameChangers#WOWpic.twitter.com/MFFYbLEj2t
— Corey Wooten (@CinemaNerd95) March 23, 2017Me watching how that #Survivor#TribalCouncil played out. Agatha Christie would’ve loved it, and “Game of Thrones” fans immediately compared the result to the Red Wedding, since it resulted in the unexpected departure of a fan favorite: Malcolm Freberg. #thequeenstayqueenWatch the entire 11 minute scene play out:Malcolm left the vote saying he wanted to “vomit.” Here’s how many fans reacted:SANDRA IS SITTING RIGHT THERE AND Y’ALL WANT MALCOM OUT #Survivorpic.twitter.com/c4PDY0YenE
— Naomi🔥 (@NanaM2662) March 23, 2017Trying to figure out how they voted off Malcom instead of Sandra #Survivorpic.twitter.com/sjWvQ73PzP
— Naomi🔥 (@NanaM2662) March 23, 2017That tribal council was like looking both ways before crossing the street and then getting hit by a plane.

Like us on Facebook. Whether those films are good are not (“Passengers”?) is up for debate, but they certainly make the journey enjoyable.By the way, director James Gunn is up for his appointed task:A few months ago, Pratt said “Guardians 2” would be the “biggest spectacle movie of all time,” so it’s clear his thoughts have only gotten larger since then. We’re much better. Seriously. Ever heard of Citizen Kane? Posted March 23, 2017 by Gina CarboneChris Pratt really, really loves “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2,” and he thinks you’ll love it so much it’ll leave you knocked up with your own Baby Groot. This movie will fry your brains and lift your spirits. Don’t be the only person on the planet who doesn’t see this movie. James Gunn will be elected president of the world. They will add the faces of the guardians to Mount Rushmore for sure. Candy will fall from the sky. It will win the World Cup and about 7 super bowl rings, sorry TOM Brady. Our movie just tested at over one million points. Rotten tomatoes already has it at 234% fresh. #GotGVol2 will win every movie award AND about 39 Olympic gold medals in swimming, gymnastics, the skiiing event with the gun, x games, snowmobiling and everything. Everyone will get pregnant. Because they won’t flip out and kill people instead they’ll be your awesome pets. Pratt and Ryan Reynolds should win special awards for how they promote films. So basically get your tickets as soon as you can. Start planning for child support now.Pratt proved he’s a Don Draper-level marketer with a hilariously hyperbolic letter to fans on Facebook, shared with the new international poster. Seriously. Humbly,
StarlordSorry, Tom Brady! We’re gonna get a planet. Yes, you too, fellas! Global warming will stop. He mentioned it, but the “Guardians” sequel arrives in theaters May 5, aka our new national holiday.Want more stuff like this? Dinosaurs will come back to life. Which unlike some movies might tell you, is actually a really good thing. There has never been and will never again be a movie like this. That the over-the-top plug is signed “Humbly, Starlord” just adds to the majesty:On May 5th the greatest movie in the history of movies is coming. May 5th will become a national holiday.

They’re described here as being like the “Seal Team 6 version of the Stormtroopers,” and boy are they scary — tall, elegant, scary. Posted March 23, 2017 by Drew TaylorTomorrow “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” debuts on Digital HD and Disney Movies Anywhere, ahead of its release on Blu-ray on April 4, and we’ve got your exclusive sneak peek at one of the release’s many bonus features. And it’s a doozy.In this mini-doc, you get a look at the design and creation of the fearsome Death Troopers, the elite Stormtrooper unit favored by Ben Mendelsohn’s Director Krennic. While the clip is brief, it does highlight a tidbit that I hadn’t even heard before: that their design was based on a sketch by Ralph McQuarrie, one of the designers for the original series whose distinctive look has been appropriated recently for things like “Star Wars Rebels” and even “Star Wars: The Force Awakens.” It goes to show you that a good idea never dies it just surfaces decades later.”Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” is on Digital HD and Disney Movies Anywhere this Friday, and on Blu-ray/DVD April 4.